![]() |
Doh!
I had a recent post where I whined about people not being able to understand that a touch in the frontcourt on a throwin does not give the ball frontcourt status.
So last night, I'm trail, the ball is thrown in from the baseline, tipped by the offense in the frontcourt, goes to backcourt and is recovered by the offense. And I blew my whistle. Sigh. Rita |
Isn't that just the way it goes...
BTW...a touch in the frontcourt on a throw-in does give the ball frontcourt status. But, then going to retrieve the ball in the backcourt is not a violation because that team never had team control. |
Did you know it was a miscall right away? If so did you stick with the call? I'm in my first full year and I know that's going to happen to me soon enough.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Rita |
Quote:
|
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks for pointing that out. |
Quote:
Which team has control has nothing to do with it. The ball has a status of its own. That can be live or dead, inbounds or OOB, and in the FC or BC. Players each have their own status. Each can be inbounds, OOB, in the FC or in the BC and we hope that none are dead. ;) The status of the ball and the players are independent concepts. They only connect when the ball is in contact with a player or more than one player. It is entirely possible to have all ten players in the backcourt and the ball in the frontcourt with respect to Team A. (Actually, I can think of a situation in which all five players from Team A can legally be OOB, all five players of Team B can be in their backcourt, and the ball can be in the backcourt of Team A!!! :cool: ) Please give 4-4 and 4-35 a thorough read. :) |
Quote:
btw...4-13 just defines FC/BC, it doesn't tell you how FC/BC status is defined. The rule you'll need for ball status is actually 4-4. |
Quote:
|
Do, the stuff that buys the beer
Re, the man who serves me beer Me, myself, I drink the beer Fa, a long long way for beer So, I'll have another beer La, I'll have another beer Te, No thanks, I'm drinking beer And that will bring us back to Do. |
Quote:
Quote:
You may need another cup of coffee this morning. ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
When the ball is in A's frontcourt it is in B's backcourt. The post I originally replied to states that when the ball is touched in the frontcourt in gains front court status (keeping in mind the throwin) How is that statement true. If the touching is by B first (and you go with the thought that we have to define frontcourt/backcourt) wouldn't that make the ball have "backcourt" status? I'm not trying to be difficult. I am just trying to make sure you understand where my statement was coming from. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I appologize, I didn't word the my original post the way I wanted to make it sound. :eek: I just didn't think anyone should get stuck on FC/BC in this play sit. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21pm. |