![]() |
putting ball in play.....
A1 is under his basket for a throw in with 3 seconds on the shot clock. he throws the ball to A2 how is near the mid court line, it deflects off of A2 finger tips and goes into the back court and the 30 sec shot clock goes off with the ball on the floor at the foul line in the back court. no team or player established at this point...... where is the ball put back in play. am thinking original baseline where the throw in started or at the point were the horn sounded?
|
The ball is put in play at the spot closest to where the ball was when the violation occurred. The ball was legally touched inbounds, so the throw-in is completed. Since the ball was at the free throw line near the opponent's basket, it will put in play on the endline at the lane line extended at the opponent's end of the court.
|
Under what rules are you playing?
The NFHS does not provide shot clock rules. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Under NFHS rules: 1. What violation occurred? 2. Where did the violation occur? Under NCAA rules: 1. Where did the violation occur and where is the ball inbounded? Under NBA rules: 1. Where did the violation occur and where is the ball inbounded? Under FIBA rules: 1. Where did the violation occur and where is the ball inbounded? |
Quote:
In both NCAA and NFHS, the ball is put in play at the spot closest to the violation. In the case of a shot clock violation, this would be at the spot closest to where the ball was when the shot clock horn sounded. (Obviously, FED rules do not address a shot clock; we must assume NCAA rules, since NY girls use NCAA rules.) In either case, my first post contains the correct answer. |
And if he is just a fan of the NBA who owns a satelite dish and is wondering why the referees always put the ball in play at the FT line extended?
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42am. |