The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 06, 2002, 11:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
A defensive player extending their arms away from their body does not automatically make the call a block. The call is dependant on where the contact occurs.If the contact is on the extended arms or elbows,etc.-i.e. outside the frame of the defender's torso-,then you have a foul on the defender.
JR,
I usually call that "Holding" and reserve the "Block" for lower body contact by the defender.
Either way, we get to blow the whistle and put up our fist.
mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1