![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
(I edited my previous post to reflect Bob's comments, but you quoted before I finished editing.) |
What if someone else said the boundary line violations are NOT a big deal? There's no reason for saying that the person just does.
It sure would be fun to see the two of you work a game together. :D |
palming the ball is really a judgement of exactly where the official sees or doesn't see the hand to ball relationship at any given moment. It is ever changing. However - the lines on the floor are static - they don't change. I think that is why they are such a big deal. I might let the carry go - but would whistle the boundry line violation.
To those that would not whistle the boundry line - what about a backcourt violation where player A was not being pressured. He was backing up calling a play and his heel was on the division line? Since there was no pressure or ball advancement do you decide not to call that? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
How about the toe on the FT line? How about a toe on the 3pt line? Are you going to award three points or two? |
Quote:
Quote:
Two - provided the ball goes in the basket |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
What's the point of your questions? You're asking questions that you know the answers to and that (I'm pretty sure) we agree on. So what's really bugging you? :confused: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You are letting a player score a point while touching one line, but not letting him score a point while touching another. Where is the sense in that? :confused: |
Quote:
Are you saying that you would wave off the free throw in a varsity game because the shooter's toe touched the line? Are you honestly saying that? :eek: |
Quote:
I actually agree with a number of your points, Scrapper, but lines are lines, and enforce them everywhere, including the FT line. |
been there done that - especially at varsity contest where they should really know better. Maybe we should let varsity players take 4 steps on a drive to the basket too - that makes about as much sense as saying this violation is no big deal. When the HC questions you as to why you allowed a point to score on a clear violation on the FT - are you going to tell him because it's no big deal. His team down by 2 with 6 seconds left brings ball upcourt and unleashes an attempt but the toe touches the line the same way it did with the FT and you call 2 points. Better run for your life - why not flip a coin to determine what rules are important enough to call on any given night?
|
Quote:
How 'bout this one? A is down by 1, 10 seconds remaining in the game after a made FG by B and subsequint Time out. A1 and A2 are now in the backcourt, all team B is at other end of court, no backcourt pressure. A2 is standing at the FT line in BC and A1 inbounds the ball by rolling it on the floor to save time (so the clock won't start). But, the ball touches OOB by a good foot or so on the "bowling ball style" inbounds pass. Big deal? |
Quote:
The calling official on the game called the violation. I would have too. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08am. |