The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Question? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40075-question.html)

secondregionbug Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:34am

Question?
 
Is sending the wrong shhoter to the line a technical foul. I was at a game and the officials pointed to #23 as the shooter and #33 shot the foul shot. After the first shot they caught it and gave a tech to the shooter and took the point away and let the right shooter shoot his 2 and then shot the 2 techs. Was this correct?

Splute Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Is sending the wrong shhoter to the line a technical foul. I was at a game and the officials pointed to #23 as the shooter and #33 shot the foul shot. After the first shot they caught it and gave a tech to the shooter and took the point away and let the right shooter shoot his 2 and then shot the 2 techs. Was this correct?

Interesting Op. By rule, if the "wrong" shooter intentionally shoots the FTs, then yes it is a T. However, based on your wording, I believe the Refs may have been able to prevent this action.

BktBallRef Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Is sending the wrong shhoter to the line a technical foul. I was at a game and the officials pointed to #23 as the shooter and #33 shot the foul shot. After the first shot they caught it and gave a tech to the shooter and took the point away and let the right shooter shoot his 2 and then shot the 2 techs. Was this correct?

Yes.

jdw3018 Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by secondregionbug
Is sending the wrong shhoter to the line a technical foul. I was at a game and the officials pointed to #23 as the shooter and #33 shot the foul shot. After the first shot they caught it and gave a tech to the shooter and took the point away and let the right shooter shoot his 2 and then shot the 2 techs. Was this correct?

If you are certain it was done intentionally by the players/team, then it is an unsporting player technical under 10-3-7f.

mbyron Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:15am

Especially if I pointed to #23, and then #33 steps up and shoots, as the OP has it.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 04, 2007 01:15pm

There's even a case book play for this.
 
8.2 COMMENT: When A1 is designated to attempt a free throw(s), no other player shall be permitted to make the attempt unless A1 is injured or disqualified prior to the attempt. If the wrong player attempts the free throw, it may be corrected as prescribed in 2-10. In certain situations, the attempt by the wrong player may be due to a justifiable misunderstanding. In such case, there should be no penalty. But, if it is a situation in which it is reasonable to expect the player to know that he/she is not the proper one to attempt the free throw, a technical foul for unsporting conduct shall be called. In this situation, the proper player is entitled to his/her free throw(s) which will be followed by the administration of the technical foul. (10-3-7f)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1