The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did we get it right?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40061-did-we-get-right.html)

Nevadaref Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
I understand the the free throws wasn't unmerited and for the wrong player shooting the FTs, but.. we are giving the correct shooter his merited free throw and per 10.2.6 - If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possesion since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).

Again, yes the error was for the incorrect shooter, but we are resuming play by giving A1 his merited free throws, so 10.2.6 would apply.

All that I can tell you is that your reasoning is not correct.

Perhaps if I alter the play for you, it might make it clearer.

Instead of the coach requesting a time-out to stop the play, B3 fouls A4. Now are you still going to give the correct shooter his attempts and think that you resume from there? You have to resume at the POI, which is the FTs now due to A4.

JoeTheRef Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
All that I can tell you is that your reasoning is not correct.

Perhaps if I alter the play for you, it might make it clearer.

Instead of the coach requesting a time-out to stop the play, B3 fouls A4. Now are you still going to give the correct shooter his attempts and think that you resume from there? You have to resume at the POI, which is the FTs now due to A4.

You and I both know how we are going to resume play for the corrective error, nobody on the lane for the correction, and resume with 1 and 1 for A4 with the lane spaces filled. But that's not what the OP situation. Let me ask you, can you give me a situation where 10.2.6 would apply?

Nevadaref Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Let me ask you, can you give me a situation where 10.2.6 would apply?

:confused: Rule 10 deals with technical fouls. Do you mean 2-10-6? (We use dashes for rule book references and dots for case book citations.)

JoeTheRef Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
:confused: Rule 10 deals with technical fouls. Do you mean 2-10-6? (We use dashes for rule book references and dots for case book citations.)

You knew exactly what rule I was referring to, but that was the response I expected, j/a.

TussAgee11 Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:57pm

I'm just lurking from the baseball months during this cold winter, and have dilly daddled in basketball - but if you have to recognize it before your next deadball, and you granted a t/o and then realized it from the coach telling you, then you didn't recognize it before the next dead ball after the clock legally started.

All I need is one person to set me straight, I believe you experts. Just want clarification on that.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:17am

Tuss, the rule is before the second live ball after the clock has started. So anytime during that next dead ball is still okay.

Joe, chill out. Your citation was confusing.
If you meant 2-10-6, then this play would be a case of its application:
A1 is fouled by B1 and it is the 7th team foul of the half. However, the table neglects to inform the officials and the ball is awarded for a throw-in to Team A. A3 inbounds the ball to A5 and while he is dribbling the table recognizes the error and sounds the horn. An official whistles to stop play and gets the proper information. Play would resume with the merited 1-1 by A1 and continue as normal from there. This was a failure to award merited FTs.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 04, 2007 04:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
You knew exactly what rule I was referring to, but that was the response I expected, j/a.

Maybe he did, but I bet many didn't. Do you report a foul on 42 when you mean 24 and expect the scorer to figure it out??? :rolleyes: Don't jump Nevada for your error...have the character to admit it and not shoot the messenger.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 04, 2007 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
So we screw up this FT administration, and we're going to give A1 "his/her's" meritted free throw and then give A the ball back? That's not how I am reading 2.10.5 & 2.10.6.

I've said this before, but here's another example: The correctable error rules aren't designed to be "fair." They are designed so all parties -- officials and *both* teams -- have an incentive to fix the problem before it becomes a correctable error. What can start out looking like an advantage (hey -- look -- that poor FT shooter A1 is at the line instead of cant-miss A2) can turn into a disadvantage (A2 gets to shoot AND they get the ball back!?).

TussAgee11 Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:09pm

Thanks Nevada... appreciate the help.

When I graduate this here college deal if I don't get a job at MiLB I'll probably be getting basketball certification, which makes this site valuable times 2... I defer to your knowledge...

-Tuss


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1