![]() |
Player Out of Bounds
We all know (hopefully) that a player going out of bounds on his own is a violation. Of course, this does not include trying to keep a ball in play and momentum carrying him/her OOB.
I've seen situations in the NBA happen a lot when a player would go around a screen under the basket by running on the OOB area by the endline. I know this rule does not apply in the NBA. But if this happens in HS or college, I assume it's a violation, right? In your experience, have you ever seen this called? I've been officiating for about 5 yrs now and not once have I seen a player going OOB violation called. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I've called it in both HS and NCAA ball -- a couple of times the first year it was in place, maybe once the following year. I rarely see it anymore. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I don't see any way a player is "forced" OOB where you have no call. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the defense illegally forces the offense oob, they have placed the offense at a disasdvantage -- call the foul. If the defense legally forces the offense oob, they have played good defense. Call the violation. (This latter part is the OP) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09pm. |