The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2-10 question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39987-2-10-question.html)

Rev.Ref63 Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:44am

2-10 question
 
Team A is fouled. No bonus light on and no indication from the table. On A's next possession, B1 fouls A1 on a shot, the basket went in. However, just before A1's release, and the whistle for the foul, the horn sounds. The table informs us that the previous foul should have been a one-and-one. What is the proper way to correct this?

Ed Maeder Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:52am

Sounds like this was in the proper time frame for a correctable error to be enforced. Shoot the one and one with the lane clear, then the and one with the lane full and continue on from there. All action between the error and the made shot stands. The horn should be ignored.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 01, 2007 04:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
Team A is fouled. No bonus light on and no indication from the table. On A's next possession, B1 fouls A1 on a shot, the basket went in. However, just before A1's release, and the whistle for the foul, the horn sounds. The table informs us that the previous foul should have been a one-and-one. What is the proper way to correct this?


Rev.Ref63:

You have not given us enough information to give a ruling. What happened between the time that Team A was erroneously (boy I hope I spelled that correctly) a throw-in for B1's common foul and the next time Team A gained control of the ball?

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 01, 2007 04:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder
Sounds like this was in the proper time frame for a correctable error to be enforced. Shoot the one and one with the lane clear, then the and one with the lane full and continue on from there. All action between the error and the made shot stands. The horn should be ignored.

Yep, I like Ed's answer. :)

But MTD makes a good point, you didn't tell us what happened during the interval from that foul to A's next possession and that foul. The error may not still be correctable.

TRef21 Sat Dec 01, 2007 04:26am

MTD is right about the info. As long as there wasn't a made basket or a whistle or stoppage prior to the foul we are ok. If someone scored or time stopped we would have to correct before that ball became live again.

Ed Maeder Sat Dec 01, 2007 04:26am

I took it for granted that A's next possession was on the throw in after the common foul. Might have been mistaken. Both are correct in asking for more information.

Rev.Ref63 Sat Dec 01, 2007 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
What happened between the time that Team A was erroneously a throw-in for B1's common foul and the next time Team A gained control of the ball?

The throw-in occurred immediately following the foul. The foul was reported and the throw-in administered to A. The horn sounded just before A1 was fouled during a successful try.

B's coach argued that his players stopped play due to the horn. That is not the case, in my opinion.

Scrapper1 Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
B's coach argued that his players stopped play due to the horn. That is not the case, in my opinion.

Even if it is the case, it's his players' own stupid fault. Any coach worth his salt tells his players, "Play to the whistle!"

The only time the horn stops play is at the end of a period, and even then, there are exceptions.

Mark Padgett Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rev.Ref63
Team A is fouled.

That must have been some foul! Five guys getting fouled at the same time! Or did it also include the players on the bench!!! I would have liked to have seen that!

I hope I never get the guy who committed that one in one of my games. He must be incredibly quick....and BIG! :eek:

OK - meds time. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1