The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Reach in foul on player (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39943-reach-foul-player.html)

rngrck Thu Nov 29, 2007 08:07pm

Reach in foul on player
 
NFHS - What is the proper mechanics (signal)for reportng this type of foul?

JRutledge Thu Nov 29, 2007 08:16pm

You will not find a signal, because there is no such thing.

Peace

MadCityRef Thu Nov 29, 2007 08:31pm

If a player "reaches in" but makes no contact, it's not a foul.
Go with "hit" signal if there is - but that ball better be loose or there's blood on the floor!!

rainmaker Thu Nov 29, 2007 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadCityRef
If a player "reaches in" but makes no contact, it's not a foul.
Go with "hit" signal if there is - but that ball better be loose or there's blood on the floor!!

Or displacement. Or illegal advantage.

Ignats75 Thu Nov 29, 2007 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Or illegal advantage.

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

rainmaker Thu Nov 29, 2007 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
eek eek eek eek eek

illegal advantage for the fouling player's team.

illegal disadvantage for the dribbler.

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 30, 2007 06:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadCityRef
If a player "reaches in" but makes no contact, it's not a foul.
Go with "hit" signal if there is - but <font color = red>that ball better be loose or there's blood on the floor!!</font>

What is a "hit" signal?

Could you explain the "loose ball/blood on the floor comment? Are you saying that you shouldn't call a foul if a defensive player reaches in with an arm, makes illegal contact and slows down/knocks off balance/re-directs an opponent?

Nevadaref Fri Nov 30, 2007 06:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What is a "hit" signal?

He obviously means NFHS signal #29.

Scrapper1 Fri Nov 30, 2007 08:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MadCityRef
If a player "reaches in" but makes no contact, it's not a foul.

My old interpreter used to say he would get so mad when he heard a coach yell, "That's a reach!". He'd say (to us, not to the coach), "Of course he's reaching!! How's he supposed to steal the ball without reaching for it?!?!?!"

Scrapper1 Fri Nov 30, 2007 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
He obviously means NFHS signal #29.

Illegal use of hands.

Bearfanmike20 Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Illegal use of hands.

At my clinic... I was told when using this signal to open the top hand like a chop because with the two fists closed it looks too much like an intentional foul signal and there is confusion.

Do any of you do that??

rainmaker Fri Nov 30, 2007 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
At my clinic... I was told when using this signal to open the top hand like a chop because with the two fists closed it looks too much like an intentional foul signal and there is confusion.

Do any of you do that??

I prefer the look of the fists. I just keep the lower arm out straight enough and low enough, and then bring the upper arm down sideways enough that there can be no confusion. If you put your intentional foul above your head, and the other at chest height and off to one side, there shouldn;t be a problem.

Ch1town Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bearfanmike20
At my clinic... I was told when using this signal to open the top hand like a chop because with the two fists closed it looks too much like an intentional foul signal and there is confusion.

Do any of you do that??

No, I haven't seen it done that way, but I was told by a clinician to make the signal off to the side of my body instead of directly in front of me so it won't look like the intentional foul signal.

Adam Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rngrck
NFHS - What is the proper mechanics (signal)for reportng this type of foul?

The question is, what did the player do wrong?

Normally when there actually is a foul on this play, it's either a block, illegal use of the hands, or a push.

Most of the time, there is no actual foul, however. Never say "reaching in" when reporting the foul, and never say "over the back" when reporting the foul.

Junker Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:28am

I believe the reaching in mechanic is right next to the over the back mechanic in the rulesbook.:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1