The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You make the call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39900-you-make-call.html)

PYRef Wed Nov 28, 2007 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Unfortunately, by your logic 9.2.2 Sit D is illegal.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

How so? The ball touched in-bounds and the player did not release it directly on a pass into the court.

Don't try and read so much into it. 9.2.2 only explains a certain exception of what the player can do while OOB with the ball.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 28, 2007 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
How so?

Because you wrote "That didn't happen. TWEET....play on." That's how.

The same can be said of a player bouncing the ball. "That didn't happen. TWEET....play on." See my point?

Nevadaref Wed Nov 28, 2007 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
SO, based on the highlighted sections above, it would seem to me that the ball is still out of bounds because it is still being touched by a player who is out of bounds.

No one is saying that the ball doesn't still have OOB status or the player for that matter. The action can still be a violation. See the example in which the player steps inbounds with one foot. Case book play 9.2.5--that player is still OOB. Therefore, do you think that is legal too?:(


Now how about responding to what I wrote in post #9. That is the central issue.

PYRef Wed Nov 28, 2007 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Because you wrote "That didn't happen. TWEET....play on." That's how.

The same can be said of a player bouncing the ball. "That didn't happen. TWEET....play on." See my point?

Did I mention the part about not reading too much into it and confusing the issue?:confused:

In this scenario (which BTW is what we are talking about)...That didn't happen!!

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Nov 28, 2007 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
What is your definition of CARRY? :confused:

Here's the first thing that came up on webster's dot com:
1: to move while supporting : transport

I would agree that this is the central issue, and quite frankly, I don't believe that the ball has been carried onto the court in the situation you mentioned.

As far as the player holding the ball and stepping over the boundary line, yes, I agree they still have OOB status, but that they have also violated.

Regarding my OP, however, I haven't seen anything concrete that shows that this is a violation. I seem to recall this discussion occurring previously, maybe even more than a year ago. I was hoping someone else would recall that and maybe be able to find the thread. I have been unable to locate it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1