The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A few questions..... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39614-few-questions.html)

Bchill24 Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:33pm

A few questions.....
 
I just got home from a get together with about 10 of my brother officials. We were going over our refresher test and had a disagreement with the following four questions: I will give you my answer and would appreciate your thoughts.

1) While A1 is dribbling past an opponet, the ball touches the opponent without loss of control by A1. A1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. Official rules this a legal play.

I say NO... Rule 4-15 article 4d

2) While dribbling in the frontcourt, near the division line, A1 steps on the division. Officials rules this a backcourt violation even though he/she is not touching the ball.

I say NO. A1 is not touching the ball so how can you have a backcourt violation????

3) A6 replaces A1. As play is about to resume, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Coach of team A want A1 to shoot the free throws. Official rules A1 is not eligible to attempt the free throws.

I say YES. Rule 8-2 section 3

4) While A1's first free throw of two is in flight, A2 and B2 commit double personal fouls. A1's try is successful. Official resumes play by awarding A1 his second free throm and plays off the make or miss.

I say yes. Case play, page 29 4.19.8 situation D

I would appreciate any feedback, therefore if the situations happens in a game I officiate, I will make the proper call. I will pass on your feedback to my brother officials.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:41pm

1) Read rule 9-5-2. The first dribble ended with the touch by an opponent. They can legally dribble again.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:49pm

My responses in red.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bchill24
I just got home from a get together with about 10 of my brother officials. We were going over our refresher test and had a disagreement with the following four questions: I will give you my answer and would appreciate your thoughts.

1) While A1 is dribbling past an opponet, the ball touches the opponent without loss of control by A1. A1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. Official rules this a legal play.

I say NO... Rule 4-15 article 4d I agree. The rule specifies loss of control.

2) While dribbling in the frontcourt, near the division line, A1 steps on the division. Officials rules this a backcourt violation even though he/she is not touching the ball.

I say NO. A1 is not touching the ball so how can you have a backcourt violation???? I don't agree. A player is in control while dribbling per 4-12-1 and it is also a violation to step OOB during a dribble even though the player is not in contact with the ball at the time per the note in 9-3.

3) A6 replaces A1. As play is about to resume, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Coach of team A want A1 to shoot the free throws. Official rules A1 is not eligible to attempt the free throws.

I say YES. Rule 8-2 section 3 I agree 3-3-4.

4) While A1's first free throw of two is in flight, A2 and B2 commit double personal fouls. A1's try is successful. Official resumes play by awarding A1 his second free throm and plays off the make or miss.

I say yes. Case play, page 29 4.19.8 situation D I agree that the POI 4-36-2b.

I would appreciate any feedback, therefore if the situations happens in a game I officiate, I will make the proper call. I will pass on your feedback to my brother officials.


FrankHtown Thu Nov 15, 2007 08:44am

On #3, doesn't proper time have to run off the clock before A1 can come in again, since he has been substituted for?

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 15, 2007 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) Read rule 9-5-2. The first dribble ended with the touch by an opponent. They can legally dribble again.

Yes, please do read 9-5-2. As Nevadaref points out, the player may dribble again only if there is a LOSS OF CONTROL caused by an opponent's touch.

rainmaker Thu Nov 15, 2007 08:49am

just want to briefly point out that 10 officials gathered together with no women included is too bad. I know a lot of you will disagree with me and I know all the reasons why, but it's my opinion.

Adam Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:11am

Maybe, maybe not, IMO.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
just want to briefly point out that 10 officials gathered together with no women included is too bad. I know a lot of you will disagree with me and I know all the reasons why, but it's my opinion.

Too bad for the wimmen; great for the men.:D

Keep finding those windmills where none exist.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Yes, please do read 9-5-2. As Nevadaref points out, the player may dribble again only if there is a LOSS OF CONTROL caused by an opponent's touch.

I realize that you that and Nevada are infallible, but I gotta confess that personally I've never been able to definitively tell exactly what is a loss of control is in those bang-bang circumstances, That's why I usually give the benefit of the doubt to the dribbler.

Maybe one day though....I can only hope and dream.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I gotta confess that personally I've never been able to definitively tell exactly what is a loss of control is in those bang-bang circumstances,

Well, here's one to tell: when the test question TELLS you that there's no loss of control :p

Quote:

1) While A1 is dribbling past an opponet, the ball touches the opponent without loss of control by A1.
Stick with it for another 80 years and you might just get the hang of this officiating thing.

rainmaker Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Too bad for the wimmen; great for the men.:D

Too bad for you that you feel that way! You're missing a great game:(

Dan_ref Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
just want to briefly point out that 10 officials gathered together with no women included is too bad. I know a lot of you will disagree with me and I know all the reasons why, but it's my opinion.

Good point. I'm also wondering if there was representation from the under 5'3" community.

(Bhuch sent an email asking me to post this btw)

rainmaker Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Good point. I'm also wondering if there was representation from the under 5'3" community.

(Bhuch sent an email asking me to post this btw)

yea, he gets a little testy about that sometimes, I know...

Adam Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
yea, he gets a little testy about that sometimes, I know...

That's just slander.

rainmaker Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
That's just slander.

Slander is my middle name.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1