![]() |
College Ruling Please
A1 puts a shot up which goes in. As the ball is passing through the net, B3 fouls A2. As the official is reporting the foul, the coach for team B disagrees with the call and receives a direct technical foul for his actions. After the free throws for the technical foul, how is play resumed? Yes we all know POI, but which team gets ball. No bonus rule is in affect
You make the call |
Team A gets the ball. The throw-in spot will depend on whether you rule B3's foul to be during a live ball or a dead ball. If the ball was still within the basket, then it's a live ball personal foul. Team A will shoot 2 free throws for Coach B's technical and then get the ball at the spot nearest B3's foul.
If the ball had cleared the net, then it's a dead ball and the foul should be called only if the contact was intentional or flagrant. In that case, it's an intentional technical foul (for men; for women, it's just a regular T, I think). Team A would shoot the free throws for Coach B's technical and then get the ball at midcourt. |
Team A would get the ball for the foul. You would shoot the T FTs and put the ball back in by POI. Then shoot FTs for bonus if necessary or just take the ball out of bounds at the closest spot of the foul.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
What do you do if the lights went off the moment the ball was in the air and you did not see who threw a punch and who came off the bench. Do you then still have the ability to look at the monitor? :rolleyes: Peace |
Quote:
OTOH, your ruling would have been correct for NCAAW. I'm sure that makes you happy. ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I agree that the T on the coach is a direct T. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Not that it matters with two Ts, but wouldn't you shoot the direct T on the coach first and then resume with POI, which is the free throws for the intentional T?
|
Quote:
While we are on the subject of NCAA technical fouls, does anyone have an easy way of remembering which T's are shot by the "offended player" and which ones anyone can shoot? Being new to college with a whopping 3 games under my belt, it is a lot to try to memorize...thanks! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
You are not missing anything.
Quote:
Peace |
Maybe where i'm getting hung up is I thought with a direct T, you administer it right away and then go to POI, which is the free throws or throwin.
With a personal foul followed by a direct T, you shoot the T first and then the personal foul free throws. Again, I realize this is nit picking since it really doesn't matter with the T which you shoot first. |
Quote:
|
In NCAA ball, the same shooter must shoot both FTs (8-2-3). And all Ts are still two shoots. You are thinking the NBA.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In both NCAA and NF rules, any player can shoot FTs on a T. The difference with the NCAA, the player which is chosen by the captain or the head coach must attempt both FTs (all Ts are two shoots). So if you have a dead ball T, that involves contact, according to 8-2-3 anyone can attempt those FTs. So if you call an Intentional Technical, anyone can shoot those FTs.
BTW guys, all of these descriptions are in the back of the NCAA Book on page 149-153. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Remember the same applies in the NF level outside of the fact that the selected shooter does not have to shoot both FTs. You can bring in a sub (NF Rules) to shoot in each T FTs. For example if you have 6 T FTs, you can sub in 6 different players to shoot each FT. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10am. |