The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Delay of game ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39453-delay-game.html)

JugglingReferee Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:04pm

I've got just one T.

Vinski Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
9.2.10 casebook which is where that example comes from is for last second tactic though....9.2.10 rule book, there is no mention of a team warning also being recorded...so do you extrapolate the last second tactic example to the rest of the game in this case?

I think so. A rule is a rule is a rule. I don’t think the interp. is suggesting that you apply a rule sometime but not others based on time left in a game. I think it is saying that,” just because there is only a few seconds left in the game, don't disregard the warning”.

If an official were to not apply both the T and the warning when team A committed the violation in the middle of the second quarter, but then did apply both to team B with 15 seconds left in the game, you are going to have a very unhappy and unfairly treated team B. IMO

kbilla Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vinski
I think so. A rule is a rule is a rule. I don’t think the interp. is suggesting that you apply a rule sometime but not others based on time left in a game. I think it is saying that,” just because there is only a few seconds left in the game, don't disregard the warning”.

If an official were to not apply both the T and the warning when team A committed the violation in the middle of the second quarter, but then did apply both to team B with 15 seconds left in the game, you are going to have a very unhappy and unfairly treated team B. IMO

Interesting...I think I agree with that interpretation...as far as the original situation though, I think I still only have an unsporting T in that case...I'd say the scream itself is unsporting (did he delay before or after the scream?)...if he went out of his way to go grab the ball, then slammed it down I think there is a little more of a case for having a delay first and then an unsporting act, but since it fell into his lap it seems like it is all simulatneous...

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
9.2.10 casebook which is where that example comes from is for last second tactic though....9.2.10 rule book, there is no mention of a team warning also being recorded...so do you extrapolate the last second tactic example to the rest of the game in this case?

Did you read the part of the COMMENT in 9.2.10 that said <b><i>"....interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if it's only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning has been issued."</i></b> That applies to the whole game. The RULING of 9.2.10 also says <b><i>"B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach."</b></i>

kbilla Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did you read the part of the COMMENT in 9.2.10 that said <b><i>"....interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if it's only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning has been issued."</i></b> That applies to the whole game.

The RULING of 9.2.10 also says <b><i>"B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach."</b></i>

But if in the second quarter B catches the ball as it comes through the net and flips it off to the side wouldn't that be considered "interfering with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in"? You wouldn't give a T there would you (assuming no prior warning)? That is what made me believe that this applied to only a last second tactic (besides the title of the casebook pla)...the idea being that you don't issue a warning in that case, b/c it benefits B by letting them stop the clock without penalty and set up their defense, etc....not saying you guys are wrong, but I think it could be spelled out a little more clearly...

rainmaker Thu Nov 08, 2007 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
...not saying you guys are wrong, but I think it could be spelled out a little more clearly...

Ya think??

Junker Thu Nov 08, 2007 01:23pm

Give them the unsporting T and move on.

Adam Thu Nov 08, 2007 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
But if in the second quarter B catches the ball as it comes through the net and flips it off to the side wouldn't that be considered "interfering with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in"? You wouldn't give a T there would you (assuming no prior warning)? That is what made me believe that this applied to only a last second tactic (besides the title of the casebook pla)...the idea being that you don't issue a warning in that case, b/c it benefits B by letting them stop the clock without penalty and set up their defense, etc....not saying you guys are wrong, but I think it could be spelled out a little more clearly...

Seems to me you can justify a warning and a tech based on two separate events. By holding the ball once it "fell in his lap," he has committed a delay of game violation. By slamming it and imitating Howard Dean, he earns a T. Give them both if you want, you've got justification and a strong case, IMO.

At the very least, he gets an unsporting T for this crap.

Nevadaref Thu Nov 08, 2007 04:56pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by kbilla
9.2.10 casebook which is where that example comes from is for last second tactic though....9.2.10 rule book, there is no mention of a team warning also being recorded...so do you extrapolate the last second tactic example to the rest of the game in this case?
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did you read the part of the COMMENT in 9.2.10 that said "....interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if it's only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning has been issued." That applies to the whole game. The RULING of 9.2.10 also says "B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach."

JR, what you wrote and I put in blue is not correct. This ruling only applies to a last second tactic. That is why the case book play bears that title.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1