The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS exam part 1 question #34 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39430-nfhs-exam-part-1-question-34-a.html)

Adam Thu Nov 15, 2007 07:48pm

No, this is not a T later in the game. It's only a T if they do it again during the initial RPP procedure.

Once everyone starts playing again, the RPP will start over next time it's used.

inigo montoya Thu Nov 15, 2007 08:01pm

I guess I don't like the wording of 7-5-1c, then... "if that team continues to delay when authorized to make a throw-in"

Even w/ the ""in each situation" in 7-5-1 it's a poor choice of semantics. It wouldn't have been terribly difficult to make the rule clearer.

Camron Rust Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by inigo montoya
I guess I don't like the wording of 7-5-1c, then... "if that team continues to delay when authorized to make a throw-in"

Even w/ the ""in each situation" in 7-5-1 it's a poor choice of semantics. It wouldn't have been terribly difficult to make the rule clearer.

"Continue" means an uninterrupted time span....in the same way that continuous motion is defined and used.

refnrev Thu Nov 15, 2007 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAREF
'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?

This question caused a lengthly discussion at our association meeting last night. We're still not sure of the correct answer but went with the majority rules of False. Can someone provide a rules cite please? Thanks.

________________

It's T -- trust me. Tjones1 gave yoiu the correct reference.

IREFU2 Fri Nov 16, 2007 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by inigo montoya
I'm missing something. I've only just started my 2nd year officiating so I'm just trying to make sure I understand.

Team A's throw-in following a timeout. A is not ready for play, official places the ball on the floor and gives a 5-count. Whistle, violation on A. Now Team B's throw-in. This is according to the RPP.

Future throw in for Team A. A does not make a thrower available. Official places the ball on the floor and gives a 5-count. According to 7-5-1c this isn't this a T? So when the question says "a violation in one situation does not carry over to another" why isn't the answer false? Doesn't the previous violation carry over, therefore B is shooting 2 for the Technical?

I was thinking the same.....but I guess other dont think so.

tjones1 Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
________________

It's T -- trust me. Tjones1 gave yoiu the correct reference.

Yeah...if only we would have talked about #14 - silly. Grrrrrrr :mad:. Actually, that's what I get for reading over the question too fast. One little word... before/after grrrr.

refnrev Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Yeah...if only we would have talked about #14 - silly. Grrrrrrr :mad:. Actually, that's what I get for reading over the question too fast. One little word... before/after grrrr.

__________________________


I actually had it right at first then changed it later for some reason. Go figure. It drives me nuts when I miss a small wording when going over things.

MeRef Sat Nov 17, 2007 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEAREF
'The resumption-of-play procedure starts over in each situation and a violation in one situation does not carry over to another.' T or False?

This question caused a lengthly discussion at our association meeting last night. We're still not sure of the correct answer but went with the majority rules of False. Can someone provide a rules cite please? Thanks.

True. Also see the Rules By Topic Comment on page 100.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1