Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie
Quote:
Originally posted by wsisco
He never picks it up or dribbles, but touches it twice rolling it to half-court.
|
First off let me say that I didn't read all the posts, becuase they seemed to have gotten off topic. But answer me this. Based on the above quote, it appears to me that he directed the ball to half court, would this not be player control?
|
The rule states that player control exists when a player is dribbling or holding a ball. Personally, I believe that the meaning is that this is how player control is established. He does not have to continue to hold or dribble the ball to maintain PC, as long as nothing occurs that, by rule, would cause the PC to end. Once player control is established and until it ends, a player cannot move his feet outside of prescribed limits.
Reagading this specific play, 4-12-2 states, "A team is in control of the ball when
a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble. Therefore, in this play, we have traveling.
You really have to study and understand 4-12 to understand player and team control, rather than taking things out of context, which has been done in this thread.