The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
what now?

Started hitting the books in preparation for the upcoming NFHS testing and came across the following from an old test. (2001-02 Part II)

"If B1 goaltends and airborne shooter A1 then commits a player control foul, the goaltending is ignored."

My answer was false, and it was counted as correct, but I can't remember how to administer the penalties. My guess would be to award the goal to team A, charge A1 with a player control foul and give the ball to team B for an unrestricted throw-in.

Agree or not?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 11:10am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
If the goaltending happened first, you award the basket and call the PC foul. I do not know what a "restricted" throw-in is. Team B is allowed to throw in the ball anywhere along the end line.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
If the goaltending happened first, you award the basket and call the PC foul. I do not know what a "restricted" throw-in is. Team B is allowed to throw in the ball anywhere along the end line.

Peace

Sorry about the non-rulebook terminology - "Restricted" would mean a spot throw-in and "non-restricted" would mean the team retains the option to run the end line.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 11:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
Sorry about the non-rulebook terminology - "Restricted" would mean a spot throw-in and "non-restricted" would mean the team retains the option to run the end line.
It either is a "designated spot" throw-in or it is not. Restricted throw-in sounds a bit confusing to me and likely others that are not knowledgeable about the rule.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Dang...I don't have my books with me, but I seem to recall a similar case book play except it was basket interference. If I recall correctly, they awarded the points, due to the BI, if the shot was released before the PC foul occurred.

Help...who has a case book?!?!??!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 12:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Look at it this way, if the goal is scored before the ball becomes dead, it counts. The ball does not become dead until the PC foul.

To determine if the shot is good or not, you need to know the timing of two things:

1. the scoring event happens (ball through goal or goal tending/BI.)
2. the PC foul occurs.

If #1 happens first, count the goal. If #2 happens before #1, no basket.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
If the goaltending happened first, you award the basket and call the PC foul. I do not know what a "restricted" throw-in is. Team B is allowed to throw in the ball anywhere along the end line.

Peace
So I am assuming that if the PC foul occured first, the goaltending would be ignored?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 11:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Yes, because the ball becomes dead immediately on the PC foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 12:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
Started hitting the books in preparation for the upcoming NFHS testing and came across the following from an old test. (2001-02 Part II)

"If B1 goaltends and airborne shooter A1 then commits a player control foul, the goaltending is ignored."

My answer was false, and it was counted as correct, but I can't remember how to administer the penalties. My guess would be to award the goal to team A, charge A1 with a player control foul and give the ball to team B for an unrestricted throw-in.

Agree or not?
See case book play 4.19.6SitA(a). It's the exact play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
See case book play 4.19.6SitA(a). It's the exact play.
4.19.6 SITUATION A: B1 obtains a legal position in A1's path before A1 becomes airborne. A1 jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. Before returning to the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. (a) Before the foul by A1, B2 commits basket interference; or (b) after the foul on A1, B2 slaps the ball on its downward flight. RULING: In (a), both the violation and the foul are penalized. The basket interference by B2 causes the ball to become dead immediately. The violation is penalized by awarding the two points. The player-control foul on A1 is also charged. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. A defensive-goaltending or basket-interference violation committed prior to a player-control foul does not contradict the general statement that when a player-control foul occurs that player cannot score. In the case of a defensive violation, it is the violation which results in awarding the score. In (b), the ball becomes dead and the try ends immediately when the player-control foul on A1 occurs. The action of B2 is ignored as goaltending cannot occur after the try has ended. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in from a designated spot out of bounds closest to where the foul occurred. (4-12-1; 6-7-4; 6-7-9 Exception; 7-5-5; 9-11)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1