The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 FTs and the ball? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39370-2-fts-ball.html)

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 05, 2007 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jer166
Except where the ball is put in play. :)

Say what?:confused:

Are you really saying that the throw-in spot for intentional personal fouls and flagrant personal fouls are different?

jer166 Mon Nov 05, 2007 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Say what?:confused:

Are you really saying that the throw-in spot for intentional personal fouls and flagrant personal fouls are different?

Thinking & typing at different speed. I edited it...:)

What I ment was if it is intentional it is OOB nearest the foul and if Flagrant T it would be at the division line opposite the table

Adam Mon Nov 05, 2007 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jer166
Thinking & typing at different speed. I edited it...:)

What I ment was if it is intentional it is OOB nearest the foul and if Flagrant T it would be at the division line opposite the table

Yes, but I referenced flagrant personal, not flagrant T.

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 05, 2007 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Wow, she goofed twice in one thread. That's very unlike Juulie. Perhaps she needs some of Padgett's meds.

I've tried selling her some, but it's a no go. :(

jer166 Mon Nov 05, 2007 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yes, but I referenced flagrant personal, not flagrant T.

Snagwells, you are absolutely correct. I realized that when went back & read it again. Somehow along the line somewhere I thought we were talking an intentional foul and a flagrant T.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 05, 2007 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jer166
Snagwells, you are absolutely correct. I realized that when went back & read it again. Somehow along the line somewhere I thought we were talking an intentional foul and a flagrant T.

Intentional fouls can be either personal or technical in nature. The same is true of flagrant fouls.

You can have intentional personal fouls; you can have flagrant personal fouls. The penalty for both are 2 FT's and the ball at the closest OOB spot to where the foul occurred. The only difference is that the flagrant personal foul carries a buh-bye with it.

You can also have intentional technical fouls; and you can have flagrant technical fouls. These also both carry a penalty of 2 FT's and the ball, but the throw-in for <b>any</b> technical foul of <b>any</b> kind is always at mid-court opposite the table. Again, the only difference between these 2 fouls is that the flagrant technical foul carries a disqualification with it.

That's the correct summation.

truerookie Mon Nov 05, 2007 06:09pm

[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]


What is a buh-bye? Or did you mean to say bye-bye and hit the wrong keys :)

Ch1town Tue Nov 06, 2007 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Intentional fouls can be either personal or technical in nature. The same is true of flagrant fouls.

You can have intentional personal fouls; you can have flagrant personal fouls. The penalty for both are 2 FT's and the ball at the closest OOB spot to where the foul occurred. The only difference is that the flagrant personal foul carries a buh-bye with it.

You can also have intentional technical fouls; and you can have flagrant technical fouls. These also both carry a penalty of 2 FT's and the ball, but the throw-in for <b>any</b> technical foul of <b>any</b> kind is always at mid-court opposite the table. Again, the only difference between these 2 fouls is that the flagrant technical foul carries a disqualification with it.

That's the correct summation.

FTR, is it safe to add that any intentional or flagrant personal foul must occur during a live ball?

Adam Tue Nov 06, 2007 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
FTR, is it safe to add that any intentional or flagrant personal foul must occur during a live ball?

Not necessarily, if an airborne shooter is involved.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 06, 2007 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Not necessarily, if an airborne shooter is involved.

Oh?

Rule 4-19-5(c)?

Adam Tue Nov 06, 2007 03:43pm

Is this where I'm supposed to say, "shut up?"

Nevadaref Tue Nov 06, 2007 03:56pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Ch1town
FTR, is it safe to add that any intentional or flagrant personal foul must occur during a live ball?
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Not necessarily, if an airborne shooter is involved.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Oh?

Rule 4-19-5(c)?

4-19-5 . . . A technical foul is:
...
c. An intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter.


So Snaqwells is correct. The airborne shooter may commit an intentional or flagrant personal foul while the ball is dead.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 06, 2007 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by Ch1town
FTR, is it safe to add that any intentional or flagrant personal foul must occur during a live ball?
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>





4-19-5 . . . A technical foul is:
...
c. An intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter.


So Snaqwells is correct. The airborne shooter may commit an intentional or flagrant personal foul while the ball is dead.

Oh?

Are you sure that exception isn't just referring to a PC foul?:)

Nevadaref Tue Nov 06, 2007 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Oh?

Are you sure that exception isn't just referring to a PC foul?:)

Yep, I'm sure. The following case book play says that an airborne shooter may be charged with an intentional or flagrant PERSONAL foul.

4.19.6 SITUATION B: Is it possible for airborne shooter A1 to commit a foul which would not be player control? RULING: Yes. The airborne shooter could be charged with an intentional or flagrant personal foul or with a technical foul. (4-19-2, 3, 4)

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 06, 2007 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Yep, I'm sure. The following case book play says that an airborne shooter may be charged with an intentional or flagrant PERSONAL foul.

4.19.6 SITUATION B: Is it possible for airborne shooter A1 to commit a foul which would not be player control? RULING: Yes. The airborne shooter could be charged with an intentional or flagrant personal foul <font color = red>or with a technical foul.</font> (4-19-2, 3, 4)

Yup, they sure can...... if they happen to commit that foul as an airborne shooter while the ball is live. And if they commit the foul as an airborne shooter when the ball is dead, they could be charged with a technical foul too(as stated above).

It depends on how you read the related rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1