The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 FTs and the ball? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39370-2-fts-ball.html)

truerookie Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I'm not finding these references.


Look at 4-19-4 it defines flagrant personal and flagrant technical fouls

truerookie Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Coach, timer, player. Which is going to be real interesting this year, because you're going to get the warning horn almost as soon as you turn around to tell the player he's disqualified.


Good point, I was asking Indianaref due to his reference in his reply. I think he stated coach, player. He did not mention timer.

rainmaker Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Look at 4-19-4 it defines flagrant personal and flagrant technical fouls

RIght. But I was looking for JR's references for where the throw-in is, and I'm not finding the citations he gave.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I'm not finding these references.

Page 51.

Rule 7-5-4(b)--"Designated out-of bounds spot nearest the foul..(b)After.....a flagrant personal foul, as in 4-19-4...."

Rule 705-6(a)--"Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in at the division line opposite the scorer's and timer's table..(a) After a technical foul, as in 4-19-5...."

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Good point, I was asking Indianaref due to his reference in his reply. I think he stated coach, player. He did not mention timer.

Case book play 2.8.4

Ch1town Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
RIght. But I was looking for JR's references for where the throw-in is, and I'm not finding the citations he gave.



Aren't Ts (flagrant or other) division line opposite table & flagrant personals are POI??

rainmaker Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Page 51.

Rule 7-5-4(b)--"Designated out-of bounds spot nearest the foul..(b)After.....a flagrant personal foul, as in 4-19-4...."

Rule 705-6(a)--"Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in at the division line opposite the scorer's and timer's table..(a) After a technical foul, as in 4-19-5...."

'o7-'08 books? Okay, well, there's another unannounced change. THis section has been completely restructured, apparently. All I've got is the old books, and this wording is in 7-5-8 and 7-5-10.

rainmaker Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Aren't Ts (flagrant or other) division line opposite table & personal flagrants are POI??

flagrant personals not POI.

Adam Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Yeah that's the ticket... ball awarded nearest the foul.
POI is for intentionals right?

POI is only for doubles (FED rules).
Intentional is just like a flagrant personal, but without the disqualification.

Ch1town Mon Nov 05, 2007 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
POI is only for doubles (FED rules).
Intentional is just like a flagrant personal, but without the disqualification.

Boy is wording ever so important! That's what I meant, designated out-of bounds spot nearest the foul :D

POI is for doubles (as you stated)... my bad.

Adam Mon Nov 05, 2007 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Boy is wording ever so important! That's what I meant, designated out-of bounds spot nearest the foul :D

POI is for doubles (as you stated)... my bad.

Just don't blame your keyboard. ;)

bob jenkins Mon Nov 05, 2007 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
'o7-'08 books? Okay, well, there's another unannounced change. THis section has been completely restructured, apparently. All I've got is the old books, and this wording is in 7-5-8 and 7-5-10.

Unannounced? Sure, if you don't count the "7-5-2 thru (sic) 7: Articles reworded for better understanding and application" phrase in the rule book, and the similar phrase in the anouncement on the NFHS web-site.

Or, maybe you meant that the 2007-08 rules changes weren't announced in the 2006-07 books. ;)

Nevadaref Mon Nov 05, 2007 03:27pm

Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by rainmaker
'o7-'08 books? Okay, well, there's another unannounced change. THis section has been completely restructured, apparently. All I've got is the old books, and this wording is in 7-5-8 and 7-5-10.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Unannounced? Sure, if you don't count the "7-5-2 thru (sic) 7: Articles reworded for better understanding and application" phrase in the rule book, and the similar phrase in the anouncement on the NFHS web-site.

Or, maybe you meant that the 2007-08 rules changes weren't announced in the 2006-07 books. ;)

Wow, she goofed twice in one thread. That's very unlike Juulie. Perhaps she needs some of Padgett's meds.

jer166 Mon Nov 05, 2007 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
A1 is on a breakaway and B1 chases her down, A1 jumps for the layup and B1 jumps at the same time on A1's left side, swiping down at the ball...shooter gets the shot off but there is excessive body contact that causes them to both crash to the floor...it was a hard foul, I will admit that....

Partner was lead and I saw him cross his arms after whistling...He was first year official and I was asleep at the wheel not talking with him....I'm thinking he called flagrant rather than intentional because B1 did make an attempt at the ball IMO rather than just grab her.....to compound my situation...I did not ask him (that was my mistake, not clarifying what he had). I should not have assumed what I would have whistled is what he had...

I administered the FT with lane cleared then the ball was given to team B for endline inbounds as if it was just normal FTs....no ejections.

So I'm trying to clarify my own doubts on how I handled it and I don't have my rule/casebook with me at work...I think the part I kicked was not giving the ball back to Team A for inbounds under the basket, closest to the spot of the foul?

The ball should be given to the offended team (A) for a designated spot throw-in at the spot OOB nearest the foul.

jer166 Mon Nov 05, 2007 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
POI is only for doubles (FED rules).
Intentional is just like a flagrant personal, but without the disqualification.

Except where the ball is put in play If a T is involved. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1