The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FIBA Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39292-fiba-question.html)

NICK Fri Nov 02, 2007 02:02am

I have:
1- travel (defender "must" have two hands on the ball)
2- travel
3- legal play (team or player control ends on an attempted shot for goal)
4- I have a FIBA casebook (2004 version) issued in New Zealand written by F. Horgan, cheers

limeyref11 Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:44am

Both hands on the ball are not required see 12.2.1

Held ball situations......one OR both hands

BTW 2004 'casebook'/interpretations from 2004 may not be valid since the rule changes in 2006!

SmokeEater Fri Nov 02, 2007 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
3) although the shot attempt has ended the player is still considered an airborne shooter until both feet are on the floor again.


Smoke,

Think about what your saying. It can't be both. Either the shot attempt has ended or it hasn't ended.

Team control ends on the release, not the shot attempt (which in proper terms is the act of shooting), at least not when the shooter is airborne.

Also, I have the 2006 FIBA Casebook in front of me. It says published by FIBA. For copies, contact the publisher at:
FIBA
Chemin de Blandonnet 8
PO Box 715
CH-1214 Vernier
Geneva
Switzerland


Thanks Jay, I understand what your saying and like what was stated already it does really only apply for fouls after the shot has been released.

I still am having a hard time with the fact that the offense released the ball on purpose and then recovered the ball all while airborne. I guess if it was really an athletic move I might just have to consider giving him/her a break for the effort.....;)

Jimgolf Fri Nov 02, 2007 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
I still am having a hard time with the fact that the offense released the ball on purpose and then recovered the ball all while airborne.

You're assuming the player released the ball on purpose. It think the OP just says "lets go of ball". This could easily have been because the block attempt jarred the ball loose.

JugglingReferee Fri Nov 02, 2007 09:54am

I understand that it's largely trivial, but the description "let go of the ball" to me sounds like a purposeful act. For an act not intended, the description is better served being "the ball was knocked out of his hands".

SmokeEater Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
You're assuming the player released the ball on purpose. It think the OP just says "lets go of ball". This could easily have been because the block attempt jarred the ball loose.

You are correct I am making that assumption. Without actually seeing the play develop I picture it as the player knows the shot is going to be blocked or is partially blocked and adjusts in the air, releases the ball, then catches it again all before landing on the floor.

Adam Fri Nov 02, 2007 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
You are correct I am making that assumption. Without actually seeing the play develop I picture it as the player knows the shot is going to be blocked or is partially blocked and adjusts in the air, releases the ball, then catches it again all before landing on the floor.

That's a travel under any rule set; whether he catches it before or after landing wouldn't matter.

limeyref11 Fri Nov 02, 2007 04:36pm

FIBA Rule
 
Under FIBA rules......,

If a player/shooter releases the ball, it is checked by a defender, and the same airborne shooter catches the ball in the air, and returns to the floor, it IS a legal play.

..............or have I missed the point?

..............which is possible, it is late here in Europe!!

eg-italy Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by limeyref11
Under FIBA rules......,

If a player/shooter releases the ball, it is checked by a defender, and the same airborne shooter catches the ball in the air, and returns to the floor, it IS a legal play.

..............or have I missed the point?

..............which is possible, it is late here in Europe!!

The question was slightly different: the defender touches the ball before the release. Now, if the release is a shot, no problem; it can be a fumble, no problem again: catching the ball is legal. It could be something else: judgment call.

The theory that a fumble is related only to dribbling is wrong; the rules say explicitly that fumbles at the start or end of a dribble are not dribbles, but don't say that a fumble can happen only at those times. Read 24.1.2.

Ciao


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1