![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The one I remember most went something like this (not verbatim):
B1 is intentionally fouled by A1 while dribbling. The official calls a player control foul. Is the official correct? Had I not studied questions like this before hand, I probably would have missed it. |
|
|||
Quote:
What is the problem with that? It also has a serious impact on the court. If there is an intentional foul and the official incorrectly rules that it is a player control foul and doesn't award any FTs, then we have a correctable error situation. We certainly don't want that. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the question is meant to imply that B1 was dribbling, it's a misplaced modifier. If it's meant to imply that A1 was dribbling, it's still grammatically incorrect. If B1 was dribbling, you shoot FTs. If A1 was dribbling, you have a PC and no free throws. Or do you? Thinking about it, I think you do, don't you? You can't have an intentional foul that is a PC foul, can you? Either way, the way it's written, you could interpret either player to be the dribbler. Last edited by Idaho; Mon Oct 29, 2007 at 07:50pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The light just went on. ![]() Thanks once again. |
|
|||
Quote:
Then again, that is my opinion. ![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
My initial problem had to do with the wording of "intentional". When I first read the question I wasnt thinking in terms of fouls when I read over the word intentional, rather the dribbler didnt attempt to avoid contact and thus a player control. However, if you read it to mean the dribbler caused an intentional foul then that must be your call and not the PC. Once I understood that, I knew what to look for in the questions.
|
|
|||
I found my practice test and this is how that question was worded:
A-1, while dribbling, intentionally pushes B-1. Official rules this a player control foul. Is the official correct? The wording "intentionally pushes", did not register with me as an "intentional foul" when I first read it. To me it was a common foul; thus PC. However, I was inlightened by seasoned refs that when these terms are used (ie: intentional) that is the intent of the question. Hope that helps clear up why I initially had trouble with this type question. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Was it just me or was it the test? | refnrev | Basketball | 1 | Tue Oct 18, 2005 09:53pm |
test | cmathews | Testing Forum | 19 | Wed Jun 09, 2004 04:37pm |
ASA test | shipwreck | Softball | 6 | Tue May 07, 2002 02:04pm |
Test #2 | Brad | Testing Forum | 0 | Sat Mar 30, 2002 01:56am |