The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member

As trail in 2 man mechanics I prefer to work higher than most of my partners. For me, this opens up my field of vision to be able to see off-ball screens, etc. As a player shoots, I then close down to help on the rebounding. I lhave had a couple of people suggest that I work lower, somewhere between the free throw line and the top of the key. I just dont like the view from there. What do you folks prefer?
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member

I'm in my first year so take this with a grain of salt . I have been instructed by several vets to position myself a few steps above the top of the key. If the ball works it's way down to the baseline I slide down a little because I think it helps me get a better look at the action in the corner.

That normally works from me, but I have gotten burned when I drop down (see story about starting a Sat.)
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 03:37pm
Do not give a damn!!

Lightbulb "Get into the game!!!"

Quote:
Originally posted by paulis
As trail in 2 man mechanics I prefer to work higher than most of my partners. For me, this opens up my field of vision to be able to see off-ball screens, etc. As a player shoots, I then close down to help on the rebounding. I lhave had a couple of people suggest that I work lower, somewhere between the free throw line and the top of the key. I just dont like the view from there. What do you folks prefer?
Depending on where the ball is and where the play is going, these people are correct. You work too far away it is precieved as lazy or that you are not close enough to see what you are calling. You need to "get into the game" as it was stated to me at a camp. Even in a 3 man, you can come at least to the top of the 3 point circle.
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member