The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39117-backcourt-not.html)

Nevadaref Thu Oct 25, 2007 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
I agree with this, but isn't A1 still dribbling. If so the 3-points rule is also in effect and says the ball is in the backcourt. We have a rule that says the ball is FC and another rule saying ball is in backcourt with no rule indicating which one overrides the other.

I withdraw the issue, I have re-read the OP, and saw where the ball rebounds to backcourt. I know the dribble ends if the opponent touches the ball, is it the same if a teammate touches the ball in a dribbling situation?

Alright, I am a waffler, at least for today. The dribble hasn't ended, so we have two rules that conflict with no guidance as to which overrides the other.

Sam,
Once A2 contacts the ball an interrupted dribble occurs. The ball is temporarily not in control of A1. Therefore, the "three-points" rule (4-4-6) which only applies during a dribble, not during an interrupted dribble is not in conflict with 4-4-2 on this play.

Adam Thu Oct 25, 2007 04:45pm

I disagree. Once A2 contacts the ball, the dribble is over. Or does the new rule change only include contact by an opponent?

Nevadaref Thu Oct 25, 2007 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I disagree. Once A2 contacts the ball, the dribble is over. Or does the new rule change only include contact by an opponent?

4-15-4d The dribble ends when:
"...The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control."

;)

Adam Thu Oct 25, 2007 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
4-15-4d The dribble ends when:
"...The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control."

;)

Yeah yeah. Just cause I don't have my book with me. I'll check when I get home.

Show off.

Splute Thu Oct 25, 2007 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yeah yeah. Just cause I don't have my book with me. I'll check when I get home.

Show off.

Ha, I thought so too. I had to look it up myself. Nevada is dead on. We have to treat it as an interrupted dribble and all the rules that apply.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1