![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
In your second situation, more information is needed about the location of players.
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
|
|||
Quote:
Is it just me or do situations like this make more sense when you are actually witnessing it on the court... The whole A1 and A1.. none of it does justice for me. I'm a visual guy. LOL |
|
|||
I have to cast my vote with Camron on this. The Situation 10 interpretation is just plain wrong.
In Situation 6, A2 is in the air with front court status when he/she catches the ball. That meets the 9-9-1 requirement that a team must be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and the first to touch it in the backcourt. A2 meets both requirements just before and just after landing in backcourt. In Situation 10, even though A2 causes the ball to have backcourt status and team A had team control and the ball had front court status, team A is not the last to touch the ball in the front court, B1 is. Rule 9-9-2 doesn't apply to this situation because it includes the statement "without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt". |
|
|||
Quote:
Furthermore I do not believe a pass from A1 (backcourt), deflected by B1 (frontcourt) and then touching A1 again in backcourt causes a backcourt violation because of the 9-9-1 rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I do agree it is splitting hairs on the call. I suppose the coach must instruct his players to always let it hit in the backcourt first. This in my opinion gives the defense a slight advantage. However, I believe we discussed similar issues with the Sit regarding the throw-in deflection. I believe the consensus in that thread was that the throwin team was in control of the pass and in control of their on destiny (if you will); wouldnt that also apply here?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, completely different. It is not a violation to cause the ball to have backcourt status. If it were, it would be a violation for A (in the frontcourt) to lose control of the ball and have it bounce into the backcourt even without touching the ball again. Causing the ball to be OOB is a violation. Touching the ball after it goes into the backcourt is required for the violation (among other things), not just making have backcourt status.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Not the biggest question but it still bothers me | jontheref | Football | 29 | Tue Sep 04, 2007 08:13pm |
SEC Situation | olddoc08 | Basketball | 15 | Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:05am |
Situation | Roger Bridges | Softball | 47 | Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:56am |
Another .3 second situation | williebfree | Basketball | 11 | Sun Dec 22, 2002 09:06pm |