![]() |
|
|||
This situation is simply wrong. We've debated it here before and it is in direct contradiction with the rule....where team a must be the first to touch after it goes into the back court and also the last to touch before it went to the backcourt. The rule is quite clear and has been unchanged for decades. Nowhere in any rule does it say that it is a violation to cause the ball to have backcourt status.
Your examples show the absurdity of interpretation that sit. #10 suggests. Furthermore, consider this additional case (inspired by yours): When B1 touched the ball it gains FC status. When A1 again touches the ball on the next dribble, it gained BC status. To be consistent with situation 10, this would have to be a violation on A1 since A1 caused the ball to have BC status. Does ANYONE here think that this is REALLY what is intended? That B1 could force a turnover by merely touching the ball from across the division line while A1 is dribbling it??? That is what situation 10 implies. Again, situation 10 is simply wrong. I expect a correction to come on on this situation. It may not come this year...but it will come.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Oct 23, 2007 at 01:42pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Not the biggest question but it still bothers me | jontheref | Football | 29 | Tue Sep 04, 2007 08:13pm |
SEC Situation | olddoc08 | Basketball | 15 | Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:05am |
Situation | Roger Bridges | Softball | 47 | Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:56am |
Another .3 second situation | williebfree | Basketball | 11 | Sun Dec 22, 2002 09:06pm |