The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Location of designated spot throw in for B1? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39017-location-designated-spot-throw-b1.html)

Nevadaref Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IamKip
Here is a question to all. Let see how many of you can get this one correct. I was surprised by the answers. Where does B1 bring the ball in at?

...snip...

Iamkip :D

Don't you just love this people who come on here with last year's info and think that they know something that we don't. :rolleyes:

Here's a hint, kip. You're WRONG. :eek:

IamKip Mon Oct 22, 2007 06:55am

Thanks to all
 
To all, even the sarcastic ones.. :) .. I am with you now. I did not realize those changes had been made and I am looking at the new book now... Thanks to all I very much appreciate your help. I have another question and will start a thread on it now that I have the new book.. Thanks again

IamKip :D

Jimgolf Mon Oct 22, 2007 01:50pm

I'm surprised you all missed this one. 3 and 4, flagrant technical fouls. ;)

HawkeyeCubP Tue Oct 23, 2007 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
You're looking at last year's rule book.
There is no 9-2-12 this year. And 9-2-11 says a teammate of the thrower may not "be" out of bounds. If you don't catch this violation until the ball is caught by A2, you call the 9-3-2 violation and give the ball to B1 roughly where A2 was standing when he caught the ball.

I remember that discussion from last year -- Is this different from NCAA then/now? For instance, (NCAA):

Thrower-in, A1, has the ball for a throw-in on the end line. A1 passes the ball to A3 who is standing on the sideline near midcourt when she receives the pass. The officials shall:
A. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the end line.
B. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the sideline near midcourt.
C. Call a back court violation and put the ball in play on the end line.
D. Call a violation on A1 for failing to complete the throw-in and put the ball in play on the end line. (9-5-1b)
E. None of the above.

My answer, for now, is bolded.

Adam Tue Oct 23, 2007 05:50pm

that was correct for NFHS last year. I have no idea about NCAA.

Scrapper1 Tue Oct 23, 2007 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Thrower-in, A1, has the ball for a throw-in on the end line. A1 passes the ball to A3 who is standing on the sideline near midcourt when she receives the pass. The officials shall:

B. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the sideline near midcourt.

NCAA and NFHS now are the same. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball directly onto the playing court so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds. If the first person to touch the throw-in pass is out of bounds, then that person has committed the violation and the ball is put in play at the spot of the violation.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Oct 23, 2007 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
NCAA and NFHS now are the same. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball directly onto the playing court so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds. If the first person to touch the throw-in pass is out of bounds, then that person has committed the violation and the ball is put in play at the spot of the violation.

Thanks Scrapper. That's what I figured, but I can't find the reference (similar to the NFHS version) that spells that out. Can you point it out to me?

bob jenkins Wed Oct 24, 2007 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Thanks Scrapper. That's what I figured, but I can't find the reference (similar to the NFHS version) that spells that out. Can you point it out to me?

9-5.1.b indicates that this throw-in is a legal throw-in, so it's an OOB violation, not a thhrow-in violation


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1