The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38945-wrong-basket.html)

Nevadaref Fri Oct 19, 2007 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man
Is this true in NFHS? :confused: Unless I'm mistaken, this is only a rule in NCAA.

You're mistaken. ;)

Stat-Man Fri Oct 19, 2007 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You're mistaken. ;)

I knew NCAA changed this several years back, but i didn't realize this was a NFHS rule as well. Explains what transpired at the end of one of my games last year.

thanks for setting me straight, :)

JugglingReferee Fri Oct 19, 2007 08:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Well, that's really not that much different from the vast majority of your responses.....

Too easy.......:p

That's becasue by the time I get to the threads, the regulars have already answered the OP, and correctly I might add. :)

In the meantime, I'm out riding my bike 15km a day, refereeing, spending time with the gf, working on my patent, enjoying a brown pop. You know, enjoying life.....

PS: head over to the fb forum for my posts. :p

Nevadaref Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSRef07
If time had expired and the FT would not change the <strike>score</strike>outcome, no shots are attempted.

FTs can always change the score. :p

johnnyrao Sat Oct 20, 2007 02:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town
Tied game with 5 seconds remaining in the 4th quarter, A1 misses her second FT. After the rebounding, B1 gets fouled on the unsuccessful try at Team As basket.

Partner & I came to the conclusion that a foul is a foul on that live ball situation. B1 shot 2 on the other end at the correct basket. Ball game…
Half the crowd went nuts as the Team A coach thought we should've went with a IW resulting in a jump ball favoring guess who? Team A

1> Was that handled correctly?

2> Had B1s try been successful, Team A would have been awarded 2 points & B1 shoots 1 on the other end?

3> B1 doesn’t shoot the FT if time had expired? ie: 1 point wouldn’t affect the outcome.

The saving grace in this, to me, is the fact that B1 missed the basket. Try telling Coach A that not only are we going to shoot two at the other end, but he doesn't get any points for the ball going through the basket because the ball is dead at the moment the foul occurred. I am sure Coach A would graciously accept that explanation because we all know that the coaches are well aware of the rules. :D Great job in getting it right!

Adam Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyrao
The saving grace in this, to me, is the fact that B1 missed the basket. Try telling Coach A that not only are we going to shoot two at the other end, but he doesn't get any points for the ball going through the basket because the ball is dead at the moment the foul occurred. I am sure Coach A would graciously accept that explanation because we all know that the coaches are well aware of the rules. :D Great job in getting it right!

Easy, "coach, it's not legally a shot at the wrong basket, so the ball is dead on the foul. No basket."
Then, immediately walk to the other end of the court to shoot the free throws.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1