The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Simultaneous Common and Intentional (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38815-simultaneous-common-intentional.html)

KCRef Fri Oct 12, 2007 08:56am

Simultaneous Common and Intentional
 
I had this situation last week in girls 6th grade league. Both teams are in bonus. My partner calls a foul on B1 on a rebound attempt. As my partner is whistling, I see A2 push B2 with both hands in the back away from the play. I called intentional foul on A2. We had A1 shoot 1 and 1, then B2 shoot 2 at the other end. Then we gave ball to team B at centerline opposite table. Was this right?

What if it was not called intentional, and therefore called a double foul? No shots and POI, which would have been AP?

What if it was "more" after my partner called his foul, and I considererd it a dead ball hence a T on A2? I think this situation would need to be administered the way we administered it. Right?

rainmaker Fri Oct 12, 2007 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRef
I had this situation last week in girls 6th grade league. Both teams are in bonus. My partner calls a foul on B1 on a rebound attempt. As my partner is whistling, I see A2 push B2 with both hands in the back away from the play. I called intentional foul on A2. We had A1 shoot 1 and 1, then B2 shoot 2 at the other end. Then we gave ball to team B at centerline opposite table. Was this right?

You got the administration almost correct, but it's not a simultaneous foul, because the fouls are of unequal "intensity". I'd call it a false simultaneous in my head, but not out loud. After all the shots, the ball does not go into play at the centerline, but nearest the spot of the intentional foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRef
What if it was not called intentional, and therefore called a double foul? No shots and POI, which would have been AP?

It wouldn't be a double foul. Ever. That's because the fouls weren't committed by opponents against each other. But you would have the penalty part correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRef
What if it was "more" after my partner called his foul, and I considererd it a dead ball hence a T on A2? I think this situation would need to be administered the way we administered it. Right?

Right, in this case, the ball would go into play at the division line.

Adam Fri Oct 12, 2007 09:05am

If the 2nd foul was an intentional, you should have put the ball in play at the spot nearest that foul.

Had it been a technical, what you did would have been correct.

And rainmaker is right, this is a false double all the way no matter what kind of fouls you call on A2.

rainmaker Fri Oct 12, 2007 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
If the 2nd foul was an intentional, you should have put the ball in play at the spot nearest that foul.

Had it been a technical, what you did would have been correct.

And rainmaker is right, this is a false double all the way no matter what kind of fouls you call on A2.

Wait a minute, I didn't say it would be a false double, only that it wouldn't be double. It couldn't be a false double, could it?

zebraman Fri Oct 12, 2007 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Wait a minute, I didn't say it would be a false double, only that it wouldn't be double. It couldn't be a false double, could it?

Sounds like a false double foul to me. The second one occured before the clock started following the first. But don't get hung up on the terminology. Just assess them in order and all is well. :)

JugglingReferee Fri Oct 12, 2007 09:30am

I vote false double. :D

rainmaker Fri Oct 12, 2007 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebraman
Just assess them in order and all is well. :)

Yea, I figured that out a long time ago. Doesn't matter what the verbiage is.

Mark Padgett Fri Oct 12, 2007 09:59am

You were right. Your partner's whistle made the ball dead, so the first foul was a personal, the second a technical (intentional or flagrant contact during a dead ball). You cannot "combine" them. Administer them separately in the order in which they occurred.

kbilla Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
You were right. Your partner's whistle made the ball dead, so the first foul was a personal, the second a technical (intentional or flagrant contact during a dead ball). You cannot "combine" them. Administer them separately in the order in which they occurred.

What wasn't clear to me was whether or not they were judged to have been simultaneous or if his partner's call was clearly first...that would make the difference of whether or not this was a T or just an intentional foul (ball live vs. dead)....only affects the inbounds (and whether or not the kid gets their first T), other than that the administration was correct...

Adam Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
What wasn't clear to me was whether or not they were judged to have been simultaneous or if his partner's call was clearly first...that would make the difference of whether or not this was a T or just an intentional foul (ball live vs. dead)....only affects the inbounds (and whether or not the kid gets their first T), other than that the administration was correct...

It also affects who is allowed to shoot the free throws.

kbilla Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It also affects who is allowed to shoot the free throws.

of course and that is actually a good point in this case. if they forced the kid who was fouled to shoot the ft's then you are making the assertion that it was an intentional foul (non-technical), so you would have the throw-in at the nearest spot...if you went opposite table on the throw-in then you must have been asserting that it was a technical foul (unless that WAS the nearest spot which it doesn't sound like it was), in which case you should have asked for a shooter...

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRef
I had this situation last week in girls 6th grade league. Both teams are in bonus. My partner calls a foul on B1 on a rebound attempt. As my partner is whistling, I see A2 push B2 with both hands in the back away from the play. I called intentional foul on A2. We had A1 shoot 1 and 1, then B2 shoot 2 at the other end. Then we gave ball to team B at centerline opposite table. Was this right?

What if it was not called intentional, and therefore called a double foul? No shots and POI, which would have been AP?

What if it was "more" after my partner called his foul, and I considererd it a dead ball hence a T on A2? I think this situation would need to be administered the way we administered it. Right?

If both fouls occurred at approximately the same time, you would have simultaneous personal fouls. If so, it doesn't matter whether one of the fouls was intentional or not. There's no FT's and you go to the POI. Rules 4-19-10, 7-5-3(b), 10-6PENALTIES1(d) and 4-36. As it's on a rebound attempt, the POI is an AP(rule 4-36-2(c).

If you rule that the fouls didn't occur at approximately the same time, you have a false double foul and you penalize the fouls in the order that you called them. In this case, you would have a personal foul, followed by an intentional technical foul.

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
You got the administration almost correct, but it's not a simultaneous foul, because the fouls are of unequal "intensity".

Rules citation?

rainmaker Fri Oct 12, 2007 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
You got the administration almost correct, but it's not a simultaneous foul, because the fouls are of unequal "intensity".

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Rules citation?

I guess I don't have anything to give here. I don't see anything that tells positively either way. Looking through the book, it's a little iffy, seems to me. You're saying (from this q and from your previous post) that an intentional personal and a common personal foul are equal, and off-set? I'd disagree with that, but I'd go with it if I could see it clearly in the book, but I don't. Although I don't see anything that would disagree with it, either. :confused:

kbilla Fri Oct 12, 2007 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I guess I don't have anything to give here. I don't see anything that tells positively either way. Looking through the book, it's a little iffy, seems to me. You're saying (from this q and from your previous post) that an intentional personal and a common personal foul are equal, and off-set? I'd disagree with that, but I'd go with it if I could see it clearly in the book, but I don't. Although I don't see anything that would disagree with it, either. :confused:

I think JR is right on here, I just followed down the path I was lead...7.5.3 doesn't differentiate between what type of foul occurred, it just says that if it is a simultaneous foul then you go to POI...fouls are either personal or technical (with a subset of each), if you have either simultaneous personal fouls or simultaneous technical fouls you go POI...you can't have a simultaneous personal/technical foul so no need to worry there....

Adam Fri Oct 12, 2007 01:40pm

In order to "offset," it has to be a double foul. I suppose it's possible to have a double foul involving an intentional and a standard personal, but I can't imagine it.

kbilla Fri Oct 12, 2007 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In order to "offset," it has to be a double foul.

not only a double foul, "offset" would also be on a simultaneous foul (7.5.3.b)

I suppose it's possible to have a double foul involving an intentional and a standard personal, but I can't imagine it.

if the whistles/fouls occurred at approximately the same time in this case, then here is your example of an intentional and "standard personal" occurring at the same time, in which case there would be no ft's and you would go POI(as JR correctly states)....if the intentional followed the personal, then it would be a technical b/c the ball would be dead...in this case you would penalize each in order (shoot all ft's) and put the ball in play at division line opposite...

kbilla Fri Oct 12, 2007 01:53pm

sorry got my response partially caught up in your quote...what i was saying is that offsetting fouls (and POI) applies to both double AND simultaneous fouls (7.5.3.b)

Adam Fri Oct 12, 2007 02:00pm

Well now, I'll need to check my books when I get home.

Thanks.

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 12, 2007 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In order to "offset," it has to be a double foul. I suppose it's possible to have a double foul involving an intentional and a standard personal, but I can't imagine it.

If you had a double technical foul composed of an ordinary "T" and a flagrant "T", would you offset the FT's even though the individual penalties are different?
Same question for a simultaneous technical foul consisting of a regular ol' "T" and a flagrant "T"......would you offset the FT's even though the individual penalties are different?

Adam Fri Oct 12, 2007 04:32pm

I could speculate and pontificate all day long, but until I check my rule book it's uninformed opinion.

My first thought, however, is that the "penalties" don't offset. Only the free throws "offset."

Again, I need to look at the book this evening after I go out and get my son's hair cut (it was either that or get him a shirt that says, "D@mmit, I'm a boy and my dad gets pi$$ed when you call me a girl!") and buy a television.

Mark Dexter Fri Oct 12, 2007 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I guess I don't have anything to give here. I don't see anything that tells positively either way. Looking through the book, it's a little iffy, seems to me. You're saying (from this q and from your previous post) that an intentional personal and a common personal foul are equal, and off-set? I'd disagree with that, but I'd go with it if I could see it clearly in the book, but I don't. Although I don't see anything that would disagree with it, either. :confused:

4-19-10 gives us the fact that this is a simultaneous personal foul. (Remember, intentional and flagrant are just modifiers of personal or technical.)

The penalty section 1(d) gives us the fact that we don't give FTs for a simultaneous personal foul.

rainmaker Fri Oct 12, 2007 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If you had a double technical foul composed of an ordinary "T" and a flagrant "T", would you offset the FT's even though the individual penalties are different?
Same question for a simultaneous technical foul consisting of a regular ol' "T" and a flagrant "T"......would you offset the FT's even though the individual penalties are different?

Well, I wouldn't if it were my choice, but I think your point is that the Fed wants us to. Okay, I can live with that, although I wish it were spelled out more clearly in the book.

Jurassic Referee Fri Oct 12, 2007 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Well, I wouldn't if it were my choice, but I think your point is that the Fed wants us to. Okay, I can live with that, although I wish it were spelled out more clearly in the book.

Juulie, you use what you have. It's clear enough, as per Mark Dexter's post. You can't read anything additional into it that isn't there.

rainmaker Fri Oct 12, 2007 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Juulie, you use what you have. It's clear enough, as per Mark Dexter's post. You can't read anything additional into it that isn't there.

I'm not saying your wrong. It's just that your interp (which I'm sure is correct) isn't intuitively obvious to me. Clear to you? Fine, but not clear at all to me.

I'm not reading anything in. I'm trying NOT to read anything in. All I'm saying is, I don't get this interp from this set of readings. And this isn't the way I'd do it if I had the choice. But I will do it this way forever from now on. If it ever happens to me. Which it probably won't now that I've got it right.

Dan_ref Sat Oct 13, 2007 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I'm not saying your wrong.

cough cough

Mark Dexter Sat Oct 13, 2007 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I'm not saying your wrong.

Oh, my.

Adam Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
cough cough

You're supposed to wait until she says, "turn your head," before coughing.

Mark Padgett Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
You're supposed to wait until she says, "turn your head," before coughing.

As someone who has worked with Juulie, my comment on this is: "No comment". :p

Back In The Saddle Sat Oct 13, 2007 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I'm not saying your wrong.

I'm overnighting you some apostrophes. I'm guessing there must be some kind of regional shortage? :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1