The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3846-question.html)

JLK Wed Jan 23, 2002 12:37pm

Just wanted to get feedback from other officials regarding when they consider a player "IN"

Does the player have to have one or two feet established on the court to be "IN"?

I'll wait a bit to see what some replies are and then I'll give you the scenario.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 23, 2002 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JLK
Just wanted to get feedback from other officials regarding when they consider a player "IN"

Does the player have to have one or two feet established on the court to be "IN"?

I'll wait a bit to see what some replies are and then I'll give you the scenario.

I use 4-35 (NFHS rules). There is no "two feet" requirement. If the player was OOB, the player returns inbound when any part of the player touches inbounds and no part of the player is still touching OOB.

mick Wed Jan 23, 2002 01:38pm

What Bob said.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JLK
Just wanted to get feedback from other officials regarding when they consider a player "IN"

Does the player have to have one or two feet established on the court to be "IN"?

I'll wait a bit to see what some replies are and then I'll give you the scenario.

JLK,
Don't expect too many other replies that will differ from Bob's post.
It is what it is.
mick

JRutledge Wed Jan 23, 2002 03:50pm

Agree with Bob
 
Just to add. Court location is where every a player or the person last touched. There are exceptions but that is basically all there is to it. So if a player is airborne, they are considered (along with the ball) to be where they last touched.


Mark Padgett Wed Jan 23, 2002 04:30pm

Re: Agree with Bob
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Just to add. Court location is where every a player or the person last touched. There are exceptions but that is basically all there is to it. So if a player is airborne, they are considered (along with the ball) to be where they last touched.


As Camron Rust has said, "You are where you were 'till you get where you're going."

JLK Wed Jan 23, 2002 04:38pm

Ok, Here's the scenario:

Made basket, A1 takes ball OOB and then throws it in to A2.
A2 is getting alot of pressure and throws back to A1 as A1 is coming IB. A1 has one foot on court and then catches the pass and then puts 2nd foot down onto the court(2nd foot was not touching OOB).

B's coach is screaming at me that a player coming from OOB onto the court needs to have both feet on the court before establishing themselves a legal player.

Now have at it....

bob jenkins Wed Jan 23, 2002 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JLK
Ok, Here's the scenario:

Made basket, A1 takes ball OOB and then throws it in to A2.
A2 is getting alot of pressure and throws back to A1 as A1 is coming IB. A1 has one foot on court and then catches the pass and then puts 2nd foot down onto the court(2nd foot was not touching OOB).

B's coach is screaming at me that a player coming from OOB onto the court needs to have both feet on the court before establishing themselves a legal player.

Now have at it....

Coach was wrong. Wasn't the first time. Won't be the last.

Bart Tyson Wed Jan 23, 2002 05:07pm

WHAT! a coach not knowing the rule! Hmmmmmm i can't imagine that. Ok as Mark said there are exceptions, the only thing we havn't said is the throwin exception concerning front/back court. If you are interested just ask.

mick Wed Jan 23, 2002 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JLK
Ok, Here's the scenario:

Made basket, A1 takes ball OOB and then throws it in to A2.
A2 is getting alot of pressure and throws back to A1 as A1 is coming IB. A1 has one foot on court and then catches the pass and then puts 2nd foot down onto the court(2nd foot was not touching OOB).

B's coach is screaming at me that a player coming from OOB onto the court needs to have both feet on the court before establishing themselves a legal player.

Now have at it....

JLK,
Sounds like you didn't call a violation. Good goin'.

<u>Player Location</u>
Case 4.35.2 Situation: <i>"Thrower A1 inbounds the ball to A2, A2 immediately throws the ball back to A1. When A1 touches the pass, he/she has: (a)both feet touching inbounds; or (b) one foot touching inbounds and one out of bounds; (c) one foot touching inbounds and the other not touching the floor. <b>Ruling</b>: The ball remains live in (a) and (c), but A1 has caused the ball to be out of bounds in (b). 4-4-4"</i>

mick

bluezebra Wed Jan 23, 2002 11:31pm

"B's coach is screaming at me that a player coming from OOB onto the court needs to have both feet on the court before establishing themselves a legal player. "

Coach, that's in the NFL. We're playing basketball.

Bob

Camron Rust Thu Jan 24, 2002 02:17pm

Re: Re: Agree with Bob
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett


As Camron Rust has said, "You are where you were 'till you get where you're going." [/B]

Huh. I remember echoing this from someone else. And I thought it was YOU!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1