The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pro hop Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38274-pro-hop-question.html)

i ekMo i Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:17pm

Pro hop Question
 
When ur performing a Pro hop in Basketball, y isn't it considered a travel? When You begin the jump off one leg that leg becomes your pivot. So y is it that when U follow up by landing on both feet(Which includes ur pivot) a travel isn't called?

JRutledge Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:27pm

A jump stop in basketball is legal after a dribble has been stopped. Other than that I have no idea what you are talking about.

Peace

bob jenkins Sun Sep 16, 2007 07:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by i ekMo i
When ur performing a Pro hop in Basketball, y isn't it considered a travel? When You begin the jump off one leg that leg becomes your pivot. So y is it that when U follow up by landing on both feet(Which includes ur pivot) a travel isn't called?

You are correct that the move seems to violate the travel rules. The rules, however, specifically allow this move, under certain circumstances (it depends on when the ball is held and the specific actions taken). Note that in exchange for allowing this move, the player cannot pivot after landing on both feet.

BktBallRef Sun Sep 16, 2007 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by i ekMo i
When ur performing a Pro hop in Basketball, y isn't it considered a travel? When You begin the jump off one leg that leg becomes your pivot. So y is it that when U follow up by landing on both feet(Which includes ur pivot) a travel isn't called?

It's known as a jump stop and it's legal. The HS rule is pasted below.

A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
If one foot is on the floor:
1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

Mark Padgett Sun Sep 16, 2007 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by i ekMo i
When ur performing a Pro hop in Basketball, y isn't it considered a travel? When You begin the jump off one leg that leg becomes your pivot. So y is it that when U follow up by landing on both feet(Which includes ur pivot) a travel isn't called?

Please note - there's enough bandwidth on this site to allow the spelling of complete words.

i ekMo i Sun Sep 16, 2007 04:37pm

Haha, sorry I'm young(17). I just couldn't find the answer so I ended up here. Is this a site for officials or just anyone?

Jurassic Referee Sun Sep 16, 2007 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by i ekMo i
Haha, sorry I'm young(17). I just couldn't find the answer so I ended up here. Is this a site for officials or just anyone?

It's a site for officials, but anyone asking questions about the rules for any sport is always welcome.

Note though that anyone who shows up just to whine, piss and moan about the officials will deserve everything they get.:)

Welcome.

i ekMo i Sun Sep 16, 2007 05:31pm

Also, Is jump stopping legal to do in other directions. Ive seen many players instad of doing a step-back jumper, they kinda jump back into the shooting position.

BktBallRef Sun Sep 16, 2007 06:54pm

Doubtful that it could be done legally.

rainmaker Sun Sep 16, 2007 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by i ekMo i
Also, Is jump stopping legal to do in other directions. Ive seen many players instad of doing a step-back jumper, they kinda jump back into the shooting position.

Usually not legal, often ignored or no-called by refs. At least in Oregon it is often ignored.

Also, I'd like you to note that the rules for travelling in the NBA are quite different from college and high school ball, and thus the jump stop rules are different. Just wanting to make that clear...

btaylor64 Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Usually not legal, often ignored or no-called by refs. At least in Oregon it is often ignored.

Also, I'd like you to note that the rules for travelling in the NBA are quite different from college and high school ball, and thus the jump stop rules are different. Just wanting to make that clear...




Not really that different at all. They are just explained in more detail in the NBA rule book so there is no ambiguity unlike that to the college and high school rule book. The only difference that I have read is the "skip" rule where when you hop off your left leg, you can't skip through and land on that same leg individually.

rainmaker Mon Sep 17, 2007 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Not really that different at all. They are just explained in more detail in the NBA rule book so there is no ambiguity unlike that to the college and high school rule book. The only difference that I have read is the "skip" rule where when you hop off your left leg, you can't skip through and land on that same leg individually.

As far as the everyday playing and reffing, everyone needs to know that the rules are enough different that they shouldn't use what's done on TV as a guide to how to play or call. Please, please, please don't encourage people to think there's any similarity. Life is a lot simpler for us lowly peons if y'all big-timers will please not talk about NBA rules as being anywhere near the same.


Woo--hoo, post #8000.

btaylor64 Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
As far as the everyday playing and reffing, everyone needs to know that the rules are enough different that they shouldn't use what's done on TV as a guide to how to play or call. Please, please, please don't encourage people to think there's any similarity. Life is a lot simpler for us lowly peons if y'all big-timers will please not talk about NBA rules as being anywhere near the same.


Woo--hoo, post #8000.

I can't help it if they are, because they are. There are some similarities in pro rules to college rules and even high school rules, just like there are differences. If this was the case then we should start a seperate forum for each distinct level of basketball.

In my reading of all the rule book sets, high school through pro, the travel rule is the same and should be refereed as such.

Congrats on the 8,000th post. I am glad to have been a part of it.

JRutledge Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
In my reading of all the rule book sets, high school through pro, the travel rule is the same and should be refereed as such.

That is the way I understand it. Actually with all the sports I work, basketball has fewer differences between all the levels. We sometime blow out of proportion what is different when the basics are practically the same. And the differences that are present are obvious things like the 3 point line.

Peace

Mark Padgett Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Woo--hoo, post #8000.

Juulie - take a cookie out of petty cash. http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...mages/woot.gif

Adam Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
take a cookie out of petty cash

Don't you mean "cache?"

Mark Padgett Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Don't you mean "cache?"

No - I meant PETTY CASH!!!

http://www.tompetty.com/JohnnyCashTom.JPG

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
In my reading of all the rule book sets, high school through pro, the travel rule is the same and should be refereed as such.

The NFHS and NCAA travel rules are almost identical. But there are differences with the NBA rule. In the NBA, you are allowed to pivot at the end of a "two-count". This allows a player to use either foot as the pivot foot (with some restrictions) after landing on one foot followed by the other. In high school and college, only the first foot may be used as the pivot in that situation. Also, the NBA's two-count allows a player to pivot after completing a legal jump stop (jump off one foot and land on two feet simultaneously). In NCAA and NFHS, there is no pivot foot after completing a legal jump stop.

Camron Rust Tue Sep 18, 2007 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64

In my reading of all the rule book sets, high school through pro, the travel rule is the same and should be refereed as such.

There are specific moves in that are legal under NBA rules that are illegal under NCAA and NFHS.

In NCAA and NFHS, the first foot down is automatically the pivot foot when the other foot touches the floor.

In the NBA, the first foot down may or may not be the pivot foot depending on where the 2nd foot touches....2nd in front of the first, the first is the pivot. The 2nd not in front of the first, either may be the pivot.

The NBA rule:

b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may use a two-count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.
The first count occurs:
(1) As he receives the ball, if either foot is touching the floor at the time he receives it.
(2) As the foot touches the floor, or as both feet touch the floor simultane- ously after he receives the ball, if both feet are off the floor when he receives it.
The second occurs:
(1) After the count of one when either foot touches the floor, or both feet touch the floor simultaneously.
c. A player who comes to a stop on the count of one may pivot, using either foot as the pivot foot.
d. A player who comes to a stop on the count of two, with one foot in advance of the other, may pivot using only the rear foot as the pivot foot.
e. A player who comes to a stop on the count of two, with neither foot in advance of the other, may use either foot as the pivot foot.

The interesting elements are highlighted.

In (d), the same NCAA/NFHS player can only pivot on the first foot down, they don't have a choice.

In (e), an NBA player may, after completing a jump stop, still pivot where the same move in the NCAA or NFHS is a travel.

Camron Rust Tue Sep 18, 2007 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The NFHS and NCAA travel rules are almost identical. But there are differences with the NBA rule. In the NBA, you are allowed to pivot at the end of a "two-count". This allows a player to use either foot as the pivot foot (with some restrictions) after landing on one foot followed by the other. In high school and college, only the first foot may be used as the pivot in that situation. Also, the NBA's two-count allows a player to pivot after completing a legal jump stop (jump off one foot and land on two feet simultaneously). In NCAA and NFHS, there is no pivot foot after completing a legal jump stop.

:( I open a window, do some other stuff, finish my reply and post it only to see that Scrapper stole the show. :)

btaylor64 Tue Sep 18, 2007 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
There are specific moves in that are legal under NBA rules that are illegal under NCAA and NFHS.

In NCAA and NFHS, the first foot down is automatically the pivot foot when the other foot touches the floor.

In the NBA, the first foot down may or may not be the pivot foot depending on where the 2nd foot touches....2nd in front of the first, the first is the pivot. The 2nd not in front of the first, either may be the pivot.

The NBA rule:

b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may use a two-count rhythm in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.
The first count occurs:
(1) As he receives the ball, if either foot is touching the floor at the time he receives it.
(2) As the foot touches the floor, or as both feet touch the floor simultane- ously after he receives the ball, if both feet are off the floor when he receives it.
The second occurs:
(1) After the count of one when either foot touches the floor, or both feet touch the floor simultaneously.
c. A player who comes to a stop on the count of one may pivot, using either foot as the pivot foot.
d. A player who comes to a stop on the count of two, with one foot in advance of the other, may pivot using only the rear foot as the pivot foot.
e. A player who comes to a stop on the count of two, with neither foot in advance of the other, may use either foot as the pivot foot.

The interesting elements are highlighted.

In (d), the same NCAA/NFHS player can only pivot on the first foot down, they don't have a choice.

In (e), an NBA player may, after completing a jump stop, still pivot where the same move in the NCAA or NFHS is a travel.

Don't worry neither you or scrapper stole the show by any means.

You're C, D, and E are not in the NBA rule book. The rule book reads verbatim:

The first count occurs:
(1) As he receives the ball, if either foot is touching the floor at the time he receives it.
(2) As the foot touches the floor, or as both feet touch the floor simultaneously after he receives the ball, if both feet are off the floor when he receives it.

The second count occurs:
(1) After the count of one when either foot touches the floor, or both feet touches the floor simultaneously.

A player who comes to a stop on the count of one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously, may pivot using either foot as his pivot. If he alights with both feet he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor.

A player who has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor it may not return until the ball is released.

A player who jumps off one foot on the count of one may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to the floor.

That is from the '06-'07 rule book.

It sounds to me alot like the high school and college rule book, but in more detail.

In my interpretation of the high school and college rule book you can still have a pivot on a jump stop it just depends on when you gather the ball. If you gather it while one foot is on the ground then you have to land with both simultaneously and you have no pivot. If you gather in mid-air, then you can land simultaneously and have a pivot or you can land with one foot followed by the other because, while you haven't gathered until you were in the air, you have not established a pivot foot.

Mark Padgett Tue Sep 18, 2007 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The NFHS and NCAA travel rules are almost identical. But there are differences with the NBA rule.

The NBA has a travel rule??!!??!! http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...ges/faint2.gif

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 18, 2007 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
The NBA has a travel rule??!!??!!

Yup, they just don't bother to enforce it......see Patrick Ewing's whole career.:)

Mark Padgett Tue Sep 18, 2007 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, they just don't bother to enforce it......see Patrick Ewing's whole career.:)

Actually, you could probably name a lot more players than just Patrick. However, one former star who almost never traveled was Clyde Drexler. The locals used to comment about it. On the flip side, Drexler really played most of his career out of position. He played shooting guard but his skills were much more suited to those of a shooting forward. His ball handling skills left much to be desired. In fact, he is probably the only NBA guard I can remember who had to look at the ball when dribbling! Having said all that, he really was a great player and a true gentleman. The NBA could use more guys with his demeanor and class.

Adam Tue Sep 18, 2007 04:50pm

He is a lousy dancer, though. Not that I watched Dancing With the Stars: my wife told me about it.

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 18, 2007 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
A player who comes to a stop on the count of one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously, may pivot using either foot as his pivot. If he alights with both feet he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor.

A player who has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor it may not return until the ball is released.

A player who jumps off one foot on the count of one may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to the floor.

That is from the '06-'07 rule book.

Wow! That's an eye-opener. This was not the rule as recently as 3 or 4 years ago. I agree with you that the rule you've quoted sounds very much like the NCAA/NFHS rule. Do you know when this version of the traveling rule was instituted?

And I'm not doubting you, but the rule you quoted is not the rule as it appears on the NBA.com website. I realize that updating the online rulebook is not the NBA's #1 priority, but it differs from what you've posted above.

rainmaker Tue Sep 18, 2007 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Wow! That's an eye-opener. This was not the rule as recently as 3 or 4 years ago. I agree with you that the rule you've quoted sounds very much like the NCAA/NFHS rule. Do you know when this version of the traveling rule was instituted?

And I'm not doubting you, but the rule you quoted is not the rule as it appears on the NBA.com website. I realize that updating the online rulebook is not the NBA's #1 priority, but it differs from what you've posted above.

And furthermore, even if the rule as written is the same word for word, it's interpreted and called much differently. So if a kid does something in HS that is called a travel in any HS game anywhere, and then says, "Well, they get away with that all the time in the NBA" I'm supposed to say, uh, "Yea the rules are exactly the same, but I'm just feeling dorky today?"

No, the fact of the matter is that if you look at how the rules are interpreted and called, not just the writing of the rule book itself, they are much different, and saying they're the same does a disservice to officiating at all levels.

Dan_ref Tue Sep 18, 2007 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
And furthermore, even if the rule as written is the same word for word, it's interpreted and called much differently. So if a kid does something in HS that is called a travel in any HS game anywhere, and then says, "Well, they get away with that all the time in the NBA" I'm supposed to say...

..."look me up when we're both in the NBA and we'll discuss."

Old School Tue Sep 18, 2007 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
And furthermore, even if the rule as written is the same word for word, it's interpreted and called much differently. So if a kid does something in HS that is called a travel in any HS game anywhere, and then says, "Well, they get away with that all the time in the NBA" I'm supposed to say, uh, "Yea the rules are exactly the same, but I'm just feeling dorky today?"

No, you tell the kid when he gets to the NBA and he's making a million dollars, he can do that, but right now in HS, it's a travel.

Mark Padgett Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
No, you tell the kid when he gets to the NBA and he's making a million dollars, he can do that, but right now in HS, it's a travel.

If he gets to the NBA and all he's making is one million, he needs a new agent. :rolleyes:

rainmaker Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
If he gets to the NBA and all he's making is one million, he needs a new agent. :rolleyes:

off-topic (my e-mail's out of whack) did you get the item you requested a couple of weeks ago?

Mark Padgett Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
off-topic (my e-mail's out of whack) did you get the item you requested a couple of weeks ago?

No, I have not. Please follow-up. Thanks. I owe you one. I'll make sure Bruce doesn't schedule you for any games with him this season. :D

rainmaker Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
No, I have not. Please follow-up. Thanks. I owe you one. I'll make sure Bruce doesn't schedule you for any games with him this season. :D

Or ABC...?

Whoa, hold on!! Bruce?? Oh, no, seriously? UUGGHHHH....

Camron Rust Wed Sep 19, 2007 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
Don't worry neither you or scrapper stole the show by any means.

You're C, D, and E are not in the NBA rule book. The rule book reads verbatim:

....

That is from the '06-'07 rule book.

That is odd, I copied/pasted directly from the current NBA.com rules page: Rule 10, Section XIV-Traveling.

http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_10...av=ArticleList



What you posted does indeed sound just like the NFHS/NCAA traveling rule.

Camron Rust Wed Sep 19, 2007 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64

In my interpretation of the high school and college rule book you can still have a pivot on a jump stop it just depends on when you gather the ball. If you gather it while one foot is on the ground then you have to land with both simultaneously and you have no pivot. If you gather in mid-air, then you can land simultaneously and have a pivot or you can land with one foot followed by the other because, while you haven't gathered until you were in the air, you have not established a pivot foot.

Fully agree.

Adam Wed Sep 19, 2007 05:42pm

Of course, because it's nothing new. Most of the time, however, "jump stop" is used to refer to the kind of jump that would otherwise be illegal if it weren't for the explicit allowance in the rules.

btaylor64 Wed Sep 19, 2007 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
That is odd, I copied/pasted directly from the current NBA.com rules page: Rule 10, Section XIV-Traveling.

http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_10...av=ArticleList



What you posted does indeed sound just like the NFHS/NCAA traveling rule.


That is definitely an old rule. I guarantee you mine is the most up to date. They should really fix that because that definitely misinforms the public, or at least those officials who see something weird and want to know what the rule is for it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1