The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Officiating Resources (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38234-officiating-resources.html)

Splute Fri Sep 14, 2007 08:10am

Both of these are the NFHS mechanic, aren't they? :confused:[/quote]

I believe the exception is regarding which positions the Trail vs Lead are watching. This states Trail would watch the lane opposite his postion on the court and the Lead would watch the lane opposite his position, rather than the specific assignment that NFHS states.

Jurassic Referee Fri Sep 14, 2007 08:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
The bold has been rescinded.

No, it sureasheck hasn't been rescinded. The same language has been in the rule book for the last umpteen years, as long as I can remember.

R4-23-3a--"After the initial legal guarding position is attained, a guard may have one or both feet on the playing court, or be airborne, provided he/she has inbounds status."

NCAA rules are the same.

The only addition over the years has been the adding of the phrase "inbounds status".

Scrapper1 Fri Sep 14, 2007 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
This states Trail would watch the lane opposite his postion on the court and the Lead would watch the lane opposite his position, rather than the specific assignment that NFHS states.

My point is that I believe those are the specific assignment that NFHS states. If I'm wrong, someone will correct me; but I'm pretty sure that in HS, each official watches the lane line opposite from him/her. In NCAA, each official watches the lane line closer to him/her.

Just to clarify. . . we're talking about watching the lane line for free throw violations, right? (I probably should've asked that sooner)

Adam Fri Sep 14, 2007 08:56am

My understanding is that the trail (or center) watches the top spot closest to him/her and top two positions on the opposite lane line. The lead watches the bottom spot on the closer line and the bottom two on the opposite line. Am I wrong?

DaQuickster Fri Sep 14, 2007 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
22) The closely guarded rule is in effect in frontcourt only, when a defender is within six feet of the ball handler. Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding. The count continues even if defenders switch. The five-second count ends when a dribbler gets his or her head and shoulders ahead of the defender.

Question: What does it mean when it states "Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding."?

Adam Fri Sep 14, 2007 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaQuickster
Question: What does it mean when it states "Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding."?

1. Player catches the ball and is holding it while closely guarded. Official starts a five second count.
2. Player starts dribbling. Official starts another 5 second count.
3. Player stops dribbling and holds the ball. Official starts another 5 second count.

As long as the official never reaches 5, it's all legal; and there were three separate 5 second counts.

bob jenkins Fri Sep 14, 2007 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
My understanding is that the trail (or center) watches the top spot closest to him/her and top two positions on the opposite lane line. The lead watches the bottom spot on the closer line and the bottom two on the opposite line. Am I wrong?

Hmmm -- I thought it was "T has the FT shooter and the top two opposite. L has closest player an entire opposite."

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaQuickster
Question: What does it mean when it states "Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding."?

A player in control of the ball may hold it for five (well, 4.999999) seconds without a violation being called. the player may then dribble for 5 seconds without a violation being called. The player may then again hold the ball for 5 seconds without a violation being called.

CoachP Fri Sep 14, 2007 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaQuickster
Question: What does it mean when it states "Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding."?

A1 may hold the ball almost to the end of the 5 second "closely guarded" count. Just before his 5 seconds expire, A1 starts his dribble and a new 5 second count begins..if he remains closely guarded. Just before that 5 second count expires, A1 may pick up his dribble and hold the ball for another 5 second count. That's 3 five second counts in 15 seconds. Before the 3rd five second count expires, A1 must shoot, pass or request time out to avoid a violation.

JoeTheRef Fri Sep 14, 2007 09:30am

[QUOTE=bob jenkins]Hmmm -- I thought it was "T has the FT shooter and the top two opposite. L has closest player an entire opposite."

You're correct.

Back In The Saddle Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:10am

You might send a message to stripes (he's here occassionally, but I don't know how often). I know he spent several years training new officials in his previous association and has put together some good materials for doing this. He may be willing share :)

Splute Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
My point is that I believe those are the specific assignment that NFHS states. If I'm wrong, someone will correct me; but I'm pretty sure that in HS, each official watches the lane line opposite from him/her. In NCAA, each official watches the lane line closer to him/her.

Just to clarify. . . we're talking about watching the lane line for free throw violations, right? (I probably should've asked that sooner)

Correct Scrapper, we are talking lane violations. However, I am not sure I am clear on your first point. Yes the NFHS has stated which positions on opposite lanes will be watched by which official. I am stating that the TASO exception now has the official watching ALL the lane positions opposite him only, instead of just the ones stated by the NFHS. Are we saying the same thing? I do not have my book to quote which postions each official observes in the lane, but I do know it is not ALL opposite lanes only. Would you agree with that?

Scrapper1 Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Splute
I am stating that the TASO exception now has the official watching ALL the lane positions opposite him only, instead of just the ones stated by the NFHS. Are we saying the same thing?

OOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHH!!! No, we're not saying the same thing. Sorry. :o Yes, it is definitely NOT the NFHS mechanic for the Trail to watch ALL the opposite lane spaces. Now I understand. I'm sorry about that. My own assumptions got in the way.

Splute Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
OOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHH!!! No, we're not saying the same thing. Sorry. :o Yes, it is definitely NOT the NFHS mechanic for the Trail to watch ALL the opposite lane spaces. Now I understand. I'm sorry about that. My own assumptions got in the way.

Since I am starting my first season, I will see what the chapter really wants us to do regarding this "exceptions list" I found. I intend to follow NFHS mechanics unless directed otherwise. It is also becoming clear that we are expected to enforce the NFHS rules in regards to Varsity play and use more common sense methods for lower ball. I agree with their philosophy, especially considering the ability of players at the lower levels.

Old School Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No, it sureasheck hasn't been rescinded. The same language has been in the rule book for the last umpteen years, as long as I can remember.

R4-23-3a--"After the initial legal guarding position is attained, a guard may have one or both feet on the playing court, or be airborne, provided he/she has inbounds status."

NCAA rules are the same.

The only addition over the years has been the adding of the phrase "inbounds status".

Statement was completely wrong, post has been rescinded.

DaQuickster Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
1. Player catches the ball and is holding it while closely guarded. Official starts a five second count.
2. Player starts dribbling. Official starts another 5 second count.
3. Player stops dribbling and holds the ball. Official starts another 5 second count.

As long as the official never reaches 5, it's all legal; and there were three separate 5 second counts.

Wow I didn't know this one. Does the NCAA have the same rule?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1