The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Upward Flight (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/37777-upward-flight.html)

crazy voyager Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:44am

just to make it confusing xD
Fiba 31.2.1 Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball when it's completly above the level of the ring and
Is on is downward flight
has touched the backboard
...
In other words, in fiba this is goaltending^^ when the ball's touched the backboard, no touch!

Scrapper1 Sun Aug 26, 2007 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy voyager
Fiba 31.2.1 Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball when it's completly above the level of the ring and
Is on is downward flight
has touched the backboard
...
In other words, in fiba this is goaltending^^ when the ball's touched the backboard, no touch!

But it sounds like it's only "no touch" if it has touched the backboard AND is on the way down. Is that right?

If so, then it could hit the backboard, continue up and be blocked and this would be legal.

Jay R Sun Aug 26, 2007 07:14pm

Here is the rule verbatim fronm the FIBA rulebook. The way I read it, Crazy is correct, once it has touched the backboard it cannot be touched (like the NBA rule).


31.2 Rule
31.2.1 Goal tending occurs during a shot for a field goal when a player touches the ball
while it is completely above the level of the ring and:
• It is on its downward flight to the basket.
• After it has hit the backboard.

Mark Padgett Sun Aug 26, 2007 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R
Here is the rule verbatim fronm the FIBA rulebook. [/COLOR]

Who translated it into English for you? :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1