![]() |
Upward Flight
Is it goal tending if the ball strikes the backboard and his touched by a defender if the ball is still in an upward flight?
|
No.
Peace |
I posted this in another thread, but maybe it will be helpful to you, Johnny.
Goaltending (all 5 must be true to be GT): 1. Must be a try. 2. Must be on the way down. 3. Must be completley outside the cylinder. 4. Must be completely above the rim. 5. Must have a chance to go in. Basket Interference (if any 1 of these happen, it's BI): 1. Can't touch the ball if it's in the cylinder. 2. Can't touch the basket or ball if it's on or in the basket. 3. Can't touch the ball (even outside the cylinder) after reaching through the basket. 4. If rim is moved, it can't contact the ball before returning to its original position. |
Quote:
I find that this is a very good post, especially for guys like me who've got a few seasons under my belt, as well the new guys getting the better levels of ball. The distinction showing all 5 criteria for GT and just 1 for BI is a nice representation. |
Thanks ... so that is one of those myths about the ball hitting the glass :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) Most of the calls happen on layups. The L usually has the contact. The C and T have the GT call. A good official will get the call right at the very minimum 9 out of 10 times, the exact reverse of what you said. If they're not doing so, then they shouldn't be officiating NCAA D1 basketball. 2)Soooooo.......obviously the guys you know shouldn't be officiating NCAA D1 basketball. Of course, I 'm saying that with the <i>caveat</i> that I don't think that you know what you're talking about. If you do know any D1 refs, I'm sure that they'll actually get this call right the vast majority of the time. If they didn't, they sureashell wouldn't <b>remain</b> D1 officials for very long. |
Quote:
Too many coaches scream that that should be called BI/GT to say that D-I refs miss it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In summary ... at the high school and collegiate levels: Ball hits glass means nothing - it has to do with upward/downward flight!
Thanks! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
just to make it confusing xD
Fiba 31.2.1 Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball when it's completly above the level of the ring and Is on is downward flight has touched the backboard ... In other words, in fiba this is goaltending^^ when the ball's touched the backboard, no touch! |
Quote:
If so, then it could hit the backboard, continue up and be blocked and this would be legal. |
Here is the rule verbatim fronm the FIBA rulebook. The way I read it, Crazy is correct, once it has touched the backboard it cannot be touched (like the NBA rule).
31.2 Rule 31.2.1 Goal tending occurs during a shot for a field goal when a player touches the ball while it is completely above the level of the ring and: • It is on its downward flight to the basket. • After it has hit the backboard. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31pm. |