The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 15, 2002, 12:34am
Official Forum Member

knowing your role-
when i am working games for new supervisors(when i am a rookie in their league) i make a list of things that i need to do and not do. i feel that i have been very successful when i follow through with these steps.

1. first i evaluate myself-i am a rookie in this league. i am good enough to be put on the roster, but i do not need to be cocky. i have to prove that i belong on this roster.

2. 2nd of all, when i get my schedule i evaluate the quality of officials that i am working with(i.e. are they nc2a tournament officials?, finals officials?, veteran guys with many yrs under there belt?)

3. when i see that i am working with these officials i know that my role in the game is very small and i should strive to gain acception from my colleagues and coaches.
my objectives in the game are:
a. (most importantly)do not overofficiate. do not be boisterous or dominate. it is better to miss a play by not calling it(plays that are not obvious), than to miss a play by calling something that is not there. i cannot stress this enough.
b. stay within my comfort zones(i.e. i will not try to use a new mechanic that i have been working on in lower level games that i do not feel i have mastered 100%.)
c. stay in my primary and never come out of it unless it is absolutely neccessary. this is a key to not step on the toes of the other officials. get the calls right in your primary and manage the game and your responsibilities without fanfare or attention.
d. do not make any weird calls. just stick to the basics. call the obvious.