The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inadv. Whistle Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/36894-inadv-whistle-question.html)

btaylor64 Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That part may well be incorrect. If team control existed before the ball became loose, then there is still team control during the loose ball. Thus going to the AP arrow would be incorrect. POI is still the proper decision.

Sorry, just bad terminology.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jul 26, 2007 01:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I thought that I asked for JR's opinion. ;)

You piss off! :D

Did you really think that I'd say something different than Zooch?

Nevadaref Thu Jul 26, 2007 02:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did you really think that I'd say something different than Zooch?

If you thought that it might irritate me, absolutely! :)

Jurassic Referee Thu Jul 26, 2007 05:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If you thought that it might irritate me, absolutely!

Well, there's that.....:)

CoachP Thu Jul 26, 2007 06:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
:eek: We have covered (or tried to cover) this type of play. 9-9-3 described the back court exceptions. Throw-in, Jump ball and DEFENSIVE intercepting ball.
Ball is live. Ball has front court status and team control has not been established. Now, A2 is not a defensive player. Correct? So when A2 jumps from front court secures control of the ball he/she has front court status and has established team control. A2 violates as soon as the 1st foot touches the back court.:D
I thought the rules makers were going to rewrite the rules to make this play and a similar throw-in play a legal play.

That'd be a good idea, why penalize A2 for his hustle?

Nevadaref Thu Jul 26, 2007 06:35am

Coach P,
Hit the link in post #4. :)

CoachP Thu Jul 26, 2007 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Coach P,
Hit the link in post #4. :)

I did. It made my head spin.

I got a BC violation BTW.

Ball had FC status
A1 caught the ball (Team control)
A1 therefore was last to touch before ball goes into BC
A1 first to touch after ball goes into BC

Not a throw-in, jump ball, or defensive steal.

Doesn't seem fair to me though, because the same thing is allowed on a throw in. A2 is allowed to land normally.

So, what if A2 was standing OOB, jumped in the air, caught the ball, then landed in bounds?

Adam Thu Jul 26, 2007 08:36am

The question is whether the parenthetical statements are meant to be all inclusive. If they are, then the situation is a BC violation. If they are meant as examples only to show what constitutes "the team not in control," then it's not a BC violation. Personally, I lean towards letting this go.

JRutledge Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:04am

Are we sure we have the right sport?
 
:p This should be very easy. Replay the down or give the result of the play when the whistle was blown. :D

Peace

Hartsy Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It is NEVER a violation to jump from the BACKCOURT and land in the FRONTCOURT. It can only be a violation if the player goes the other direction.

Uh, you better think about this one a little more.

For instance, Team A contols the ball in their frontcourt. A2 is holding the ball awaiting A1, who paused coming up court to talk to Coach A. B applies pressure and A2 passes the ball toward A1 in order to avoid the 5 count. A1 jumps the midcourt line and receives the ball in the air, before establishing frontcourt status.

Violation, correct?? Same as if A1 had OOB status.

Scrapper1 Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy
For instance, Team A contols the ball in their frontcourt. A2 is holding the ball awaiting A1, who paused coming up court to talk to Coach A. B applies pressure and A2 passes the ball toward A1 in order to avoid the 5 count. A1 jumps the midcourt line and receives the ball in the air, before establishing frontcourt status.

Violation, correct??

Yes, but not because the player landed in the frontcourt. The violation is for causing the ball to go into the backcourt, which happened as soon as A1 catches the ball.

Nevadaref's point was that it's never a violation to have the ball in the backcourt and then cause it to go to the frontcourt.

rainmaker Thu Jul 26, 2007 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
I got a BC violation BTW.

Ball had FC status
A1 caught the ball (Team control)
A1 therefore was last to touch before ball goes into BC
A1 first to touch after ball goes into BC

Not a throw-in, jump ball, or defensive steal.

Are you refering to the OP? I don't think the ball had frontcourt status in that situation before A1 caught the ball. There was no team control before he caught it so there couldn't be a frontcourt or back court. Right?

Mark Dexter Thu Jul 26, 2007 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If that is the case, then this play is not interesting at all. It is NEVER a violation to jump from the BACKCOURT and land in the FRONTCOURT. It can only be a violation if the player goes the other direction.

Wait.

If the ball has frontcourt status, last touched by A, and A1 touches it in this situation, you have a backcourt violation the moment A1 touches the ball, as he still has backcourt status until he lands in the frontcourt.

Mark Dexter Thu Jul 26, 2007 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
:p This should be very easy. Replay the down or give the result of the play when the whistle was blown. :D

Peace

Unless you have a penalty on the play. ;)

CoachP Thu Jul 26, 2007 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Are you refering to the OP? I don't think the ball had frontcourt status in that situation before A1 caught the ball. There was no team control before he caught it so there couldn't be a frontcourt or back court. Right?

Oh, no, sorry, I was reflecting on zoochys post.

But, now that you ask, the OP said the ball hit the floor before A2 caught it. Does that mean the ball has FC status? :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1