The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I don't think it's about being aggressive or not, personally. I think it's about getting plays right.
Let me explain what I mean by that comment:

I'm at a college camp and we are in transition. I am going slot to slot opposite table and the ball is coming down the court just outside the opposite lane line from me. Well the kid gets to the hole and the defender takes a swipe at it and misses and whacks the kid right in the head. Well I wait for a whistle from lead and nothing comes. Well I blow the foul after no response from L (the ball goes in which makes it look like he doesn't get hit). I was 100% that he got hit. Well the clinician comes out and says that both the L and the T didn't see anything so why was I reaching? I was reaching cause I know with no doubt in my mind the kid got hit. I went and asked the kid just after the hoop if he got hit in the head and his exact words were, "Quite hard actually".

My point to that is the clinician was telling me to leave my partners out to dry on a play that I knew was a foul. Essentially he was telling me to let him "live or die with it" which is a philosophy I use in very rare circumstances if at all. I want to do what is right for the game, my crew, and lastly myself and in that order. I believe doing anything else or any other way is doing a disservice.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 10:38am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
Well the clinician comes out and says that both the L and the T didn't see anything so why was I reaching?
Ok, here's my clinician story from one of my very first camps.

I'm Lead. Ball swings quickly to the Center and A1 immediately drives to the basket. B1 gets a good piece of A1's arm on the shot. No whistle from the C. Clearly outside my primary, so I let it go. Here's my conversation with the observer:

Him: Whose call was that?
Me: The Center.
Him: Right. Did he have a call?
Me: No.
Him: Right. Did the kid get fouled?
Me: Yes.
Him: Right. What should you have done?
Me: Call the foul?
Him: (Patted me on the shoulder).

So it varies from clinician to clinician. Big surprise, right?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 02:08pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Ok, here's my clinician story from one of my very first camps.

I'm Lead. Ball swings quickly to the Center and A1 immediately drives to the basket. B1 gets a good piece of A1's arm on the shot. No whistle from the C. Clearly outside my primary, so I let it go. Here's my conversation with the observer:

Him: Whose call was that?
Me: The Center.
Him: Right. Did he have a call?
Me: No.
Him: Right. Did the kid get fouled?
Me: Yes.
Him: Right. What should you have done?
Me: Call the foul?
Him: (Patted me on the shoulder).

So it varies from clinician to clinician. Big surprise, right?
No worries.... Dick Bavetta learned the same thing while in the NBA. He wasn't the first and you won't be the last.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia Area, PA
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
Let me explain what I mean by that comment:

I'm at a college camp and we are in transition. I am going slot to slot opposite table and the ball is coming down the court just outside the opposite lane line from me. Well the kid gets to the hole and the defender takes a swipe at it and misses and whacks the kid right in the head. Well I wait for a whistle from lead and nothing comes. Well I blow the foul after no response from L (the ball goes in which makes it look like he doesn't get hit). I was 100% that he got hit. Well the clinician comes out and says that both the L and the T didn't see anything so why was I reaching? I was reaching cause I know with no doubt in my mind the kid got hit. I went and asked the kid just after the hoop if he got hit in the head and his exact words were, "Quite hard actually".

My point to that is the clinician was telling me to leave my partners out to dry on a play that I knew was a foul. Essentially he was telling me to let him "live or die with it" which is a philosophy I use in very rare circumstances if at all. I want to do what is right for the game, my crew, and lastly myself and in that order. I believe doing anything else or any other way is doing a disservice.

I've been told both things by different observers at camps; i've heard that you can make this call but the cadence of your whistle needs to allow for both the L & T to pick up the call first (i.e. it would be a delayed/late whistle on your part). I've also been told that since it is not the slot's primary and the L and/or T have clear looks, let them call/pass on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1