![]() |
A1 and B1 are running for a loose ball near the sideline. A1 being the faster player touches the ball and then dribbles but his momentum carries him out of bounds because he is off balance. The ball is still inbounds near the sideline. A1 then returns inbounds to secure the ball and continues his dribble. The official ruled that A1 is not allowed to secure the ball once he goes out of bounds and then comes back inbounds. Is the official correct?
|
If A1 was dribbling and stepped on the sideline, he is OOB, even if he is momentarily not touching the ball.
|
Yes..but A1 did not touch the sideline. He was still on the court when he touched the ball. Then he lost his balance and went out of bounds. Then he came back.
|
Quote:
Seriously, though, the official is not correct. If a player is dribbling and steps on the line, then we have out of bounds, ball to B. If the player steps out of bounds during an interrupted dribble, then he/she can come back in bounds and continue the dribble. |
The key to this play is you said he dribbled. So, he can not go OOB and come back in and be the 1st. to touch the ball. Dribbleing means player control. IF he just touched the ball to keep it inbounds and his momentum takes him OOB then he can come back in bounds and be the 1st to touch.
|
Classics never really die, do they? Review casebook plays <b>7.1.1 B</b> and <b>C</b>.
Those are great cases to remember for during a game. Nothing will quiet a coach when you can say "Hey coach, that's a legal play. Check 7.1.1 in your case book." Sorta makes him think "How the #*@% did he know that off the top of his head....?" and gives you a bit of credibility in the process ;) |
Don't forget that A1 was running pretty fast and then he touched the ball and had a dribble in there somehow. But the dribble was a short one because he was losing his balance. It all happened very quickly.
|
Quote:
Like I said, I'm new...I could be wrong (Won't be the first time :) and probably not the last :() |
lotto, are you sure. I don't think you dribble, be the last to touch the ball, go OOB, and be the 1st. to touch.
|
Quote:
|
I don't have the book with me. Player tip toeing the sideline while dribbleing. Looses balance, steps OOB(interupted dribble) steps inbounds, continues to dribble. Are you going to call OOB?
|
No.
Based on the case book plays I sighted above, I don't think OOB is the correct call, as long as the player re-establishes "inbounds" status. |
One of two things happened. Either the dribble was interrupted, in which case the player by rule can come back inbounds and be the first to touch. Or the dribble was not interrupted, which means that even though the player may not have been touching the ball at the time, the minute he stepped out it was a violation.
Touching after returning to the court is not a violation in either case. |
IMO interupted dribble has more to do with losing control of the ball and not losing your balance and stepping OOB.
But I can see where they do not have to be mutually exclusive. Pertaining to the original post: NFHS Rules 9-3 Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds. [Edited by MOFFICIAL on Jan 11th, 2002 at 10:16 AM] |
Quote:
I believe what this note is trying to get across is that if a player--while dribbling--steps on the line or OOB during the time I mentioned above, they are OOB. I don't believe that note is intended to address the time that a player does not either have control or not dribbling. |
OK i went home just to see this case 7.1.1. Sorry guys but this case play does not start with player control, i.e. Dribbling. Anytime you have player control and no one else touches the ball, you cannot be the last to touch the ball and you step OOB and be the 1st. to touch the ball inbounds. The case play 7.1.1 has nothing to do with player contro before he goes OOB.
|
Quote:
Sorry, but there is no player control during an interrupted dribble. As Hawks Coach and others have pointed out - if there is a player dribbling and he/she steps out of bounds that player has commited a violation as soon as he/she steps OOB, whether the player is touching the ball or not. If, however, you have an interrupted dribble, which many have been discussing in this thread - you certainly can be the last to touch the ball, then step OOB, and then be the 1st to touch it inbounds. See 7.1.1 b and c in your case book. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. See 4-12-1 in your rule book. Jake |
Bart,
Show me the rule that says, <i>anytime you have player control and no one else touches the ball, you cannot be the last to touch the ball and you step OOB and be the 1st to touch the ball inbounds</i>. <P> I think that's one of basketball's great myths. <P> The reason that 7.1.1 Situation B is not a violation is because there was no dribble by A1. The key to this whole original post is the referees judgment of whether or not the player was dribbling when they went out of bounds. <p> If a player is dribbling and steps out of bounds (even if they don't happen to be touching the ball at the instant that they step out), they are out of bounds. Rule 9-3 Note: <i> The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.</i> <P> If a player is not dribbling, they can come back in bounds and be the first to touch the ball without a violation. For instance...the ball is rolling towards the sideline. A1 dives and saves the ball inbounds and the momentum carries A1 out of bounds. A1 can then run back onto the floor and pick up the ball with <b>no violation </b>of the rules. <P> Z [Edited by zebraman on Jan 11th, 2002 at 12:39 PM] |
Re: Error on previous post.
Quote:
Chuck |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57pm. |