![]() |
Jump Ball Administration Question
On many occassions during the jump ball administration to start the game, I've witnesed several referees, including some partners in games I'm in, tell the non-jumpers that they can't have a foot on the division line or straddle the division line. This is for both the non-jumpers lined up around the center circle and those that aren't. Do any of you tell players this or have you seen this before? If so, what rule are you or are these referees citing should somebody ask them why can't we stand there? Again, I'm talking about the division line. Just curious.
|
All I can come up with is 2-3, the 'war powers act.' :)
|
Quote:
That restriction applies only to the jumpers. That's probably where the confusion lays. There is no rule stating that non-jumpers can't have a foot on or straddle the center line. Iow, it's legal. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Perhaps, long ago, in the annals of the game, it was a rule. Perhaps, long ago, some ancient referee pulled this out of his tail and now these guys do it because it was done to them.
But there is nothing in the rules about whether non-jumpers can touch or straddle the division line. Edit: Dangitt, JR. For an old guy, you're mighty quick on them keys. :) |
Quote:
BITS: I am one of those "ancient referees", :D , and I do not remember any such rule regarding the non-jumpers. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Wait a minute....... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Wait a minute again.....some of those spots are moving.:eek: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
:D |
Quote:
That is just as incorrect. I've politely asked a few of these refs about this instruction following the game, and each has insisted that these players must be stationary for the jump ball. :( |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now that I realize that it can be misinterpreted, I guess I'll have to reconsider. |
Agree
From Mark Dexter: "Hold (your) spots. I've always said this, with the understanding that it meant not to switch positions around the circle. Now that I realize that it can be misinterpreted, I guess I'll have to reconsider."
I agree. Same understanding, same realization, and after 26 years of saying this, I also must now reconsider. |
This is good reading. I have always thought this to be the case as well (cant move) since I heard the phrase so many times. After re-reading the rules I too see the confusion of the phrase.
Nor had it stuck in my head that the "Jumper" didnt have to face his basket; only has to be in that half of the circle. Nor did I consider that he didnt have to "jump" at the toss. And the "jumper" can touch the ball up to twice, but no more.... aaaahhhhh the little things. :) Thanks for the clarity... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am. |