The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
All conferences i work the supervisors say No player control until the player possess the ball with both hands or clearly dribbles. batting the ball to the floor to gain control is not a dribble.
Bart,
Those must be "small-hand conferences".
That determination reduces the need for officials to have to make the control judgement.
Do you think that is a proper application?
mick
Like I said, these decisions on establishing player (and therefore team) control with the tap are the diciest and have inspired some great debate - Tony's favoite term, the "controlled tap!" Must start a dribble or hold the ball for there to be control. This deteermination that a tap was either a temporary hold then then throw, or the start of a dribble, are one of the most difficult to make. IMO, one should err on the side of determining that a tap does not establish team control unless it just seems so obvious you have to say it was controlled. But I know there are differences on this point and I respect those differences. Just call it consistently, and how your bosses tell you to, and we'll play by your rules!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
1st) the original post was uncertain about the player tapping to the BC was control. This is why I bright it up. 2nd) The supervisors are trying to take some judgement out so we can be consistant. I don't think its relevant it size conferences. As the old saying goes," right or wrong the boss is still the boss".
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
Control on a throw back like this is the hardest call for me to make on the court. I have a hard time rationalizing that this is control of the ball. This, whether or not, he is on the floor or in the air and going out of bounds trying to save the ball.

Control on the throw does not matter!!!
Yep, it does. RecRef is saying that he sometimes has trouble determining whether the ball is batted or whether it is caught and thrown.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
exception, Player saving the ball from going OOB. He jumps grabs ball with both hands and throws the ball inbounds. No player control.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
Control on a throw back like this is the hardest call for me to make on the court. I have a hard time rationalizing that this is control of the ball. This, whether or not, he is on the floor or in the air and going out of bounds trying to save the ball.

Control on the throw does not matter!!! Here are the four BC violation requirements:

(1) Team A must have control.
And it under situations where there is no team control that my problem comes into play. Missed shot, no team control, ball is batted about, not a dribble, tap, or hold just a bunch of A and B players trying to gain control. Ball heads OOB and A1 reaches for it and flings/throws it back in one motion. Is there control?

Same thing but on the floor. No team control and kids are diving for the ball. A1 gets a hand on it and flings it back. Is there control?

Notice that I did not say the ball is batted back or did I say it was aimed at A2 or A3…

So yes I must use my judgement.


[Edited by RecRef on Jan 10th, 2002 at 09:49 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 10:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
exception, Player saving the ball from going OOB. He jumps grabs ball with both hands and throws the ball inbounds. No player control.

Then are you saying that the player may not request "Time" because there was no player control?
mick
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Well Mick when you put it that way it does appear to be unfair. hummmmm. The situation we discussed was on a clock reset. def. grabs the ball to save from OOB, throws it inbounds but to the off. player. We determind no player control, no reset. I do believe you have a point about the time out.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
Control on a throw back like this is the hardest call for me to make on the court. I have a hard time rationalizing that this is control of the ball. This, whether or not, he is on the floor or in the air and going out of bounds trying to save the ball.

Control on the throw does not matter!!!
Yep, it does. RecRef is saying that he sometimes has trouble determining whether the ball is batted or whether it is caught and thrown.
In the original situation - ball batted/thrown/tapped into BC - all that matters is that the ball was touched.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 11:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb Au contraire.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter

In the original situation - ball batted/thrown/tapped into BC - all that matters is that the ball was touched.

You, Mark, assumed team control. Original post did not.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2002, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Re: Au contraire.

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter

In the original situation - ball batted/thrown/tapped into BC - all that matters is that the ball was touched.

You, Mark, assumed team control. Original post did not.
And, more to the point, origianl poster admitted he didn't know if this was a rebound or a loose ball after a drive to the hole. Very different situations.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1