The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump stop (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/36522-jump-stop.html)

Johnny Ringo Fri Jul 13, 2007 02:30am

Jump stop
 
The jump stop...while driving to the basket, the player picks up dribble (both feet in the air) while coming to a jump stop ... what can they do from the point they land?

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 13, 2007 06:18am

NFHS rule 4-44-2(a).

IREFU2 Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
The jump stop...while driving to the basket, the player picks up dribble (both feet in the air) while coming to a jump stop ... what can they do from the point they land?

Pass or shoot.

bob jenkins Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Pass or shoot.

Or request time out, or foul, or commit a violation, or pivot, or smile for the photographer, or ask a cheerleader out on a date, ...

Jay R Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
The jump stop...while driving to the basket, the player picks up dribble (both feet in the air) while coming to a jump stop ... what can they do from the point they land?

Pass, shoot or pivot

IREFU2 Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Or request time out, or foul, or commit a violation, or pivot, or smile for the photographer, or ask a cheerleader out on a date, ...

Oh yeah, all of those other things too!!!!!:D

CoachP Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R
Pass, shoot or pivot

Pivot? Not with "rule book" definition of a jump stop.

IREFU2 Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
Pivot? Not with "rule book" definition of a jump stop.

Hmm, thats right. If you leave off of one foot and land on two, then you can not pivot. If you leave off one foot and land one foot, second foot. That is a travel. So like I said said, pass or shot.

Zoochy Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
The jump stop...while driving to the basket, the player picks up dribble (both feet in the air) while coming to a jump stop ... what can they do from the point they land?

Look at the original post. The player gathers the ball while both feet are in the air. If he/she lands with both feet hitting the ground at the same time, then either foot could be the pivot.
If the post had said the player gathers the ball with one foot on the ground then jumped off that foot and landed with both feet hitting the ground at the same time..... That is the other 'Jump Stop'. There is no pivot foot in that situation.

Johnny Ringo Fri Jul 13, 2007 04:03pm

Thanks Zoochy! You seem to have understood and and givenn me the clarification needed. I see this called wrong a lot and I was certain of what could be done or not done and I can tell by the answers here that it is just as confusing as actually seeing it for many officials

Player is driving to basket ... while still dribbling, jumps, gathers the ball (with two hands) and comes to a jump stop ... from here the player can pivot (or pass or shoot) and there has been no violation. :)

blindzebra Fri Jul 13, 2007 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
Pivot? Not with "rule book" definition of a jump stop.

You really should read the OP and the rule book again.;)

blindzebra Fri Jul 13, 2007 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Hmm, thats right. If you leave off of one foot and land on two, then you can not pivot. If you leave off one foot and land one foot, second foot. That is a travel. So like I said said, pass or shot.

Both those are true, except neither of those happened in the OP.

The player in the OP may pivot.

CoachP Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
Both those are true, except neither of those happened in the OP.

The player in the OP may pivot.

We don't know what happened in the OP. The OP only said he came to a jump stop.
If he came to a jump stop per:
4-42-a
art 1: may pivot
art 2: may pivot
art 3: not pivot

My goof was refering to a definition of a jump stop in the rules when there is none. :o

blindzebra Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
We don't know what happened in the OP. The OP only said he came to a jump stop.
If he came to a jump stop per:
4-42-a
art 1: may pivot
art 2: may pivot
art 3: not pivot

My goof was refering to a definition of a jump stop in the rules when there is none. :o


"the player picks up dribble (both feet in the air)"

We sure as heck do know.:rolleyes:

CoachP Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra
"the player picks up dribble (both feet in the air)"

We sure as heck do know.:rolleyes:

ya but, both feet in the air means nothing....it's how he lands that determines whether art 1,2 or 3 applies. The OP only defined the landing as a "jump stop".
Am I missing something or ya just messin' with me now?;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1