![]() |
Sure you do! We're in triple overtime last night :(, and player A1 goes flying after a loose ball. He's <b>in the air</b> falling OOB, and he requests the TO. I grant it. Coach B goes nuckin' futs saying all sorts of things (I thought of Mark and his howler monkeys. He may have a point.....).
Anyway, he kindly asks me after the game ended (in the <b>4th</b> overtime, mind you) to review the play so that it wouldn't happen again. I told him I was going to do that anyway, and was off the floor. Well sure enough case book 5.8.3D is a pretty good situation, and the rule book states a timeout is granted to a player who is in control. I'd assume that just because you're airborn doesn't mean you're not in control! Can someone please nod their head yes that I made the right call? |
I believe that you are right. A team is in control when a player has the ball and when it is being passed between teammates. If the player had the ball as he was going out of bounds and requested a time-out (remember that only an official can call a time-out) I too would have granted the request. It was a good play on the part of the player and he should be rewarded, especially since it was legal.
Does everyone else agree with me? |
Nope, see 10.7.8 situation (c).
|
:)
[Nods] |
Am I missing something here? My rule book (2001-2002) only goes up to 10-6.
|
Anything in the tens is fouls (remember, folks, only ten rules in basketball!), so it would not be germane to this topic.
|
just messin with ya, good call.
|
Right call
You see this all the time in NCAA, and the player 99% of the time gets the TO.
|
Good job to grant the TO in that situation. I had a very similar play last night. Player was not airborne, but was off-balance and thought he was going to fall OOB, so he requested the TO. I granted it.
The coach's confusion probably stems from the fact that the NBA changed its rule about 3 years ago, so that a player may not be granted a TO if he is about to go OOB. Chuck |
From the way you describe the situation, you were exactly right. NFHS Rules Review Video that I have, shows exactly the same situation. A1 goes after a loose ball, grabs it, jumps in the air as he is going oob, and requests a TO which is granted by the Ref on the video. Legal play.
|
As long as the player was in control of the ball, grant the timeout.
|
I see this coach again next Friday. He's usually a pretty cool customer, and I was suprised at his outburst last night. Maybe he just didn't know the rule (imagine that :rolleyes: ), and took exception.
Now lemme ask this one: do I bring this up in a friendly manner before the game when we're greeting coaches and say "Oh, by the way, I looked up that OOB issue and found that...." Or should I just attempt to let sleeping dogs lie? Do I gain anything by telling him? Do I lose anything by not telling him? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I agree with rainmaker the coaches don't care about knowing. They just like to bring it up so you will look it up. They don't have the capacity to remember.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56pm. |