The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2000, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378

Absolutely! There are many times in games that we have virtually simultaneous whistles, sometimes a violation and foul or other times two fouls on different players. It's up to the partners to communicate well with each other, decide which happened first (thus nullifying the "second" foul or violation), and proceed accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2000, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 156

Last night in an 8th grade boys blowout. A1 is dribbling up the side and is pushed from the side by B1. I called the foul, but after the first foul and right at my whistle, A2 set an illegal screen on B1. The coach objected, naturally, and I told him that the ball was dead on the first foul. Therefore, there couldn't be another common foul on that play. Was I rignt, or is the ball live until the whistle? There was no shot involved.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2000, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 21


You are correct. Unless the "second" foul was intentional or flagrant you ignore it. It happened during a dead ball. You had already seen the "first" foul and blown your whistle.

Furthermore, a whistle does not always cause the ball to become dead--i.e. the violation before the whistle caused the ball to be dead.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1