The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   REFEREE mag July 2007 test (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/36031-referee-mag-july-2007-test.html)

RefLarry Wed Jun 27, 2007 05:38pm

REFEREE mag July 2007 test
 
Which of the following are true of fouls?
a. A personal foul cannot occur during a dead ball.
b. A technical foul cannot occur during a live ball.
c. A flagrant foul can be either personal or technical.
d. An intentional foul can be either personal or technical.
e. A player-control foul is always a common foul.

I am concerned about NFHS answers only .Refer to 4-19-1 through 4-19-6 if you need. At least two of the answers are correct.

I have the answer according to the mag but am looking for your answers first since I am confused about (b). I will post the mag's answers later.

What letters do you think are correct?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jun 27, 2007 05:50pm

a,c, d & e are correct. (b) is incorrect.

Referee magazine has posted incorrect answers before- several times- and have had to print retractions in later issues.

Mark Padgett Wed Jun 27, 2007 06:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefLarry
Which of the following are true of fouls?
a. A personal foul cannot occur during a dead ball.
b. A technical foul cannot occur during a live ball.
c. A flagrant foul can be either personal or technical.
d. An intentional foul can be either personal or technical.
e. A player-control foul is always a common foul.

I am concerned about NFHS answers only .Refer to 4-19-1 through 4-19-6 if you need. At least two of the answers are correct.

I have the answer according to the mag but am looking for your answers first since I am confused about (b). I will post the mag's answers later.

What letters do you think are correct?

Here are two examples of technicals that can be called during a live ball:

1) during play, A1 uses profanity directed at the official
2) during play, A1 is charged with fighting

There's actually quite a few others including some stuff a player would do to the backboard or ring during a shot.

Here's an easy way to remember that a T can be called during a live ball. During play, a coach yells the implication about the circumstances surrounding your birth that your mother was actually a female dog. :eek:

Would you only call the T if the ball was dead?

deecee Wed Jun 27, 2007 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Here are two examples of technicals that can be called during a live ball:

1) during play, A1 uses profanity directed at the official
2) during play, A1 is charged with fighting

There's actually quite a few others including some stuff a player would do to the backboard or ring during a shot.

Here's an easy way to remember that a T can be called during a live ball. During play, a coach yells the implication about the circumstances surrounding your birth that your mother was actually a female dog. :eek:

Would you only call the T if the ball was dead?

if not the ball, then definitely the coach

bob jenkins Thu Jun 28, 2007 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
a,c, d & e are correct. (b) is incorrect.

Referee magazine has posted incorrect answers before- several times- and have had to print retractions in later issues.

a) is not correct. A personal foul on or by an airborne shooter can occur while the ball is dead.

IREFU2 Thu Jun 28, 2007 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
a,c, d & e are correct. (b) is incorrect.

Referee magazine has posted incorrect answers before- several times- and have had to print retractions in later issues.

I agree with JR here, b is definately incorrect......:D

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 28, 2007 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
a) is not correct. A personal foul on or by an airborne shooter can occur while the ball is dead.

I stand corrected.

It;s true, it's true......

Nevadaref Thu Jun 28, 2007 01:06pm

For NFHS c, d, and e are true statements about fouls.

Ref Mag incorrectly also lists item (a) as true because they forgot about what it says in 4-19-1, "A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead."

RefLarry Thu Jun 28, 2007 05:25pm

ANSWERS according to REFEREE mag re:July 2007 test
 
According to the magazine the NFHS answer is " a,c,d,e "(same answer for NCAA men). The NCAA Women answer is "a,c,e."

RefLarry Thu Jun 28, 2007 06:09pm

why not "b" too?
 
What is incorrect about Mark Padgett's comments about answer "b"?

Joel Poli Thu Jun 28, 2007 08:01pm

In A, the ball is not "dead" until the airborne shooter is no longer airborne. I think that "A" is a true statement

Jurassic Referee Thu Jun 28, 2007 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joel Poli
In A, the ball is not "dead" until the airborne shooter is no longer airborne. I think that "A" is a true statement

Wrong. The ball is dead when it goes through the basket, as per NFHS rule 6-7-1.

Also NFHS rule 4-19-1 says--"A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead."

Joel Poli Thu Jun 28, 2007 09:05pm

J.R.
This is what I was reading:
SECTION 7 DEAD BALL
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
ART. 1 . . . A goal, as in 5-1, is made.
ART. 2 . . . It is apparent the free throw will not be successful on a:
a. Free throw which is to be followed by another free throw.
b. Free throw which is to be followed by a throw-in.
ART. 3 . . . A held ball occurs, or the ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange.
ART. 4 . . . A player-control or team-control foul occurs.
ART. 5 . . . An official's whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below).
ART. 6 . . . Time expires for a quarter or extra period (see exception a below).
ART. 7 . . . A foul, other than player- or team-control, occurs (see exceptions a, b and c below).
ART. 8 . . . A free-throw violation by the throwing team, as in 9-1, occurs.
ART. 9 . . . A violation, as in 9-2 through 13, occurs (see exception d below).
EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.
b. Article 5 or 7 occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight.
c. Article 7 occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal (is in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight. The trying motion must be continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in the player's hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap, and is completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may include arm, foot or body movements used by the player when throwing the ball at his/her basket.
d. Article 9 as in 9-3-2 or 9-13-1, occurs by an opponent.
NOTE: If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching. If the touching is interference or goaltending by A, no points are scored. If B violates, the points are awarded – either two or three depending on whether it was a two or three-point try or tap.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 29, 2007 02:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joel Poli
EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.

Yep, that's the right rule. You are just misreading it. Let's say that the ball passes through the basket, thus ending the try BEFORE the airborne shooter returns to the floor. When do you think that the ball becomes dead?
In this case it is when the try ended because that happened first.

Jurassic Referee Fri Jun 29, 2007 02:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joel Poli
J.R.
This is what I was reading:
SECTION 7 DEAD BALL
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
ART. 1 . . . A goal, as in 5-1, is made.

ART. 7 . . . A foul, other than player- or team-control, occurs (see exceptions a, b and c below).

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs <font color = red>while</font> a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.
b. Article 5 or 7 occurs <font color = red>while</font> a try for a free throw is in flight.

Joel, rule 6-7-1 says that the ball is dead when a goal is made. That goal may be a try or a free throw. Note that the EXCEPTIONS that you cited above hold true <b>ONLY</b> while a try for a field goal or free throw is <b>STILL</b> in the air when a foul occurs. They don't apply to a foul by or on an airborne shooter that occurs <b>AFTER</b> a goal is made and the ball is dead. Rule 4-19-1, as already cited, covers that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1