The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   New AP arrow rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/35634-new-ap-arrow-rule.html)

rainmaker Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Actually getting an M.S., too, soon.

Does that mean I have to become a clock mistress? :eek:

Clock Madame?

truerookie Thu Jun 14, 2007 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF
first off it is not correctable - foul, (failure to award)
A1 has ball for throw in (live ball) throws in 2 seconds ran off for held ball
(Dead ball after whistle) Must be recognized here (first dead ball after clock ran)
A1 has ball for throw in (live ball) ball inbounded and kicked

Now if it were correctable it is the only time you do not return to POI
restart for the awarding of a Merited free throw without change of possession you would shoot the Free throws and play on.

ok, got it. I know where I made the mistake at. Thanks:)

todd66 Fri Jun 15, 2007 01:54pm

The Fed has issued a case play to illustrate the way the rule is to be implemented. Here is the link: http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/08/basketball.aspx
Click on the comments to 2007/2008 rule changes and the case play is there. :)

OHBBREF Fri Jun 15, 2007 02:26pm

I am going to regret this I know -
But OS the reason for this is right there in black and white for all to see -

"The previous rule could possibly reward a defnsive team for commiting a violation, especially durring an alternating possession throw in"

Sometime you should just admit you were in error and move on!

Back In The Saddle Fri Jun 15, 2007 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Clock Madame?

After all, time is money to a madame ;)

Adam Fri Jun 15, 2007 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF
I am going to regret this I know -
But OS the reason for this is right there in black and white for all to see -

"The previous rule could possibly reward a defnsive team for commiting a violation, especially durring an alternating possession throw in"

Sometime you should just admit you were in error and move on!

It doesn't reward the defense. The offense still has the ball, the arrow would only get switched as it was going to be anyway. There's no reward for the kick, the defense gains nothing they wouldn't gain on any other type of throw-in.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 15, 2007 06:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by todd66
The Fed has issued a case play to illustrate the way the rule is to be implemented. Here is the link: http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/08/basketball.aspx
Click on the comments to 2007/2008 rule changes and the case play is there. :)

Yep, straight from the NFHS:

4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking violation, Team A is awarded a throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred. Since the throw-in was not contacted "legally," the throw-in had not ended. Therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. (6-4-4)

OHBBREF Mon Jun 18, 2007 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It doesn't reward the defense. The offense still has the ball, the arrow would only get switched as it was going to be anyway. There's no reward for the kick, the defense gains nothing they wouldn't gain on any other type of throw-in.

I am just quoting the NFHS posting that is there reasoning for making the change!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1