![]() |
Touching ball to floor
This concerns the situation where a player has picked up his dribble and is holding the ball and sort of leans over and he touches the ball to the floor. By rule this isn't a dribble but from the stands comes the usual nonsense hollering for a double dribble.
At some pint in history does anybody know if this used to be considered a dribble? Or is it an NBA rule or something? I'm just wondering where the confusion might come from. |
The confusion comes a lack of oxygen caused from fans having their heads placed firmly in a methane-filled environment.
|
BTW - there's no such violation as a "double" dribble - the correct term is "illegal" dribble. Next time a coach yells at you for not calling a "double" dribble, tell him there's no such thing. Fun will ensue. ;)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
the usual response is "of course there is" / "where did they find you i am going to tell whoever is running this tourney that you dont know the rules" my response to that is always "be my guest" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As someone pointed out here recently, NFHS just writes the rule books. A lot of the terminology pre-dates the NFHS. Just because the Fed changes its jargon doesn't mean the rest of the world has to follow suit. Calling a "discontinue" or a "carry" or a "palm" or a "double dribble" an "illegal dribble" may be technically correct, but nowhere near as easy to say or as descriptive. Why not just have one foul call, for that matter. Why hold, block, push, trip, etc.? Why not just "Foul"? |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
If a player's dribble ends by the dribble touching an opponent, and the player immediately dribbles again, you're saying that the "double dribble" is a violation? Sorry. Can't agree with that. |
Quote:
|
Palming (Carrying) Violation ???
Someone mentioned palming or carrying earlier in this thread, which deals with proper NFHS language.
Please help me out. I can't find anything about palming or carrying being a violation in Rule 9 Violations. Is it mentioned somewhere else in the rule book? I knows that palming or carrying is a violation and has a violation signal, number 20, but where in the rule book is it actually called a violation? It seems to me that carrying or palming may be a violation of Rule 9-4 Travel, because while the player is palming or carrying, he or she may be traveling with the ball. Or palming or carrying can be a violation of rule 9-5 Illegal Dribble, because while palming or carrying the ball, the player has stopped one dribble and will start another dribble. Help??? |
Quote:
|
Thanks
From Jurassic Referee: Rule 4-15-4(b) and case book play 4.15.4SitA.
Thanks Jurassic Referee. Since this thread, at one point, was about precise rule book language, the point that I was trying to make was that according to Rule 9, palming is not an actual violation, but rather, according to Rule 4, palming ends the dribble, so the actual, precise violation would be, in my opinion, an illegal dribble or a travel. In any case, when I see it, I'm blowing my whistle, using signal #20, and stating verbally "Carry" or "Palming" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35am. |