![]() |
Quote:
:rolleyes: :p |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. The rules need to be cleaned up, we have countless examples of poorly written rules. 2. Yes, it isn't specifically laid out. 3. But it is clear that there isn't supposed to be a judgment between a try and a throw, so logically, a throw should end the same way a try does. 4. Logic also says that the defensive touch is talking about a defender attempting to block the try/throw immediately not touching it 15 feet away. 5. Common sense tells you that the rules intent isn't to count 3 on a pass from outside the arc, away from the basket that strikes a defender and goes in the basket. 6. Taking common sense, logical progression and the fact we have a case play in place that says we can count it as a 2, why would anyone hold onto 5-2-1 and rule a 3? :confused: |
Quote:
Why is it no one wants to answer my question: if a try and a throw are considered the same thing, if A1 is fouled behind the arc in the act of throwing the ball, should A1 be awarded 3 FT's? |
Quote:
It depends, on where the throw is going now doesn't it.;) As for the case play, it talks about B1 being inside and outside the 3 point area touching the try/throw and it going in. Add it up and it's talking about an on-ball defender...as if A1 v B1 wasn't enough. Also to take it farther, it talks about a thrown ball being touched by B1 outside the arc going in too, so we counting 3 points on a skip pass from one wing outside the arc that hits B2, outside the arc, on the other wing that goes into the basket a 3? After all you have a thrown ball from the 3 point area contacting a defender also in the 3 point area going in. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Why?
Because a throw toward the basket, is by rule the same as a try, a throw from outside the 3 point line away from the basket isn't, and yes I am aware that the rules don't spell it out for me that way, but hey I'll stick with using a little bit of common sense and logic to clean up what the rules makers didn't spell out in that NY City phone book sized rules/case book some seem to need.;) :D |
Quote:
How far apart is a throw "away from the basket" vs. "towards a basket"? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
THREE-POINT BASKET CLARIFIED (5-2-1): Three points shall be awarded for any ball thrown, passed or shot from beyond the three-point arc that passes through a team's own basket. While in most situations a "try" can be differentiated from a pass, to eliminate possible confusion this change should help to clarify by not requiring judgment as to whether the ball in flight was a pass or try. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So, is this statement true: "Any pass that originates from outside the arc, and is tipped by the defense inside the arc, and goes through the basket, counts as 3 points"? According to the 5-2-1, the case play, and the Clarification, it is. And, as well, the OP. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
It is quite clear that a throw and a try are NOT the same. The NFHS put in rule 5-2-1 in order to give the offense the benefit of the doubt in cases in which the official could not clearly distinguish a try from a pass. I believe that you have been misplacing the emphasis in the sentence from the comment on that rule change. I have underline the part that I think is of paramount importance. "While in most situations a "try" can be differentiated from a pass, to eliminate possible confusion this change should help to clarify by not requiring judgment as to whether the ball in flight was a pass or try." It is my opinion that the NFHS never intended this rule to be used for cases in which the player was CLEARLY PASSING the ball such as many of the examples given by bz and the one in the OP. However, it should be applied in those situations in which the official isn't sure whether the player was passing or trying for goal, and thinks "well, he might have been shooting." Quote:
My answer is that if the official deems that the player was clearly passing/throwing the ball while NOT making an attempt to score, then awarding FTs would be unjustified. The penalty section of Rule 10 clearly states that free throws are only awarded if "fouled in the act of shooting and try or tap is unsuccessful" and 4-41-1 defines act of shooting to involve a try, not a throw or pass. Of course, that doesn't change my position on the play in the OP. It merely means that this play is one in which the official can clearly deem that the player was passing and thus it lies outside the scope of 5-2-1. Quote:
Here's a play for you. Alter the OP such that the ball merely bounces around on the ring and does NOT go in, but while the ball is up there B2 fouls A2, who is still outside the 3pt line. Are you going to award him 3 FT? Let's even say that A2 jumped in the air to make the pass and A2 fouled him before he returned to the floor. When does the ball become dead on this play? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
I think your logic on both of these examples is flawed, though. We don't award free throws here because there was no try. The rules allow us to judge the difference between a try/tap and a pass, it's just that that decision is immaterial when it comes to whether a basket should be counted as a 2 or a 3. |
Quote:
4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1's three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1) This says that if it is a try that falls short and is deflected into the basket it is only two points. There is no ambiguity...it is a two. You can't ignore that. You are saying that if it were not a try but a pass or thrown ball, that it would be three points with the exact same deflection. You have to decide if it was a try or not... judgment required (under your interpretation). Unless you're going to completely ignore 4.41.4b when a try fall short and is tipped in by a defender. Quote:
Let's try this a different way... A ball, as it leaves a throwers hands either as a pass or a try. The moment it leaves the hands, it either has a chance of going in or it doesn't. If it does, it will 3 if it originated from behind the line. If it doesn't, the amount to score is not a relevant question. Should a defender get involved in the play, the touching by the defender doesn't change the status of the ball with regards to the amount scored. If the ball was not on a potentially scoring trajectory...a 0 point trajectory...the scoring opportunity for that throw is over, it can not become a 3 by the defense directing the ball into the basket. Any new direction that takes the ball on a path towards the basket is a new action. |
Quote:
4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1's three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1) My answer is what is written on page 10 of the rules book. "Therefore, it is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation." 5-2-1 is not intented to apply to this situation. That wasn't the purpose of its creation. That's the best explanation that I can provide, Mark. :) |
Quote:
The clarification says exactly that "IF" the throw, pass or shot enters the teams basket. |
Ok, since I'm not up all night like some people just thinking about basketball and rules, I didn't get a chance to respond until this morning.
The main point of contention appears to be what is the intent of 5-2-1. I believe what they are trying to say is points are scored if the ball goes through the basket, without regard to the intent on how it went through. And, in spite of the 37 pages in this thread, I think we are all actually in agreement of that deep down. Think about it - if A1 passes the ball, and it bounces off B1's head (or even A2's head) and goes through the basket, we do not wave off the points because A1 or A2 weren't actually shooting, right? Of course not. That is the purpose of this rule - we do not have to judge whether there is really an intent to score, such as a shot, try, or tap, but points can be scored "by accident". Also, 3 points can scored "by accident" if there is no shot, but the ball is released on a throw or pass from outside the arc and still goes through the basket. This reasoning is further clarified by the comment - the officials do not have to judge intent to award points. This does not mean we have to <B>ignore</B> intent for other rules purposes. That's why I asked about A1 getting fouled - we still need to judge whether it's a shot to determine FT's, airborne shooter rules, possible goaltending, and, oh yes, whether 4.41.4(b) applies. :) So, if it is a try, then the try ends according to the rules, and any subsequent tap, bounce, etc. is a new act, and subject to where the tap/bounce originated. If we judge it to be a pass and not a shot, then all the applicable rules apply to passes as well. So, iow, the more I think about it, the more I don't think the two case plays are in conflict at all. |
very well said
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm. |