The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 23, 2001, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 237
gabel

Palming!? In a 10u game?!?! You have to be kidding me! I have never seen that!
As a point of reference, the case book has a play that resembles what you describe. Maybe someone else can give a better example but here is my 2cents.

Case book play 4.15.4 SITUATION A: As dribbler A1 attempts to change ditections to avoid contact with guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble. RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribbled ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occured.

Note that in this play the hand could still be located relatively on top of the ball.

A palming violation occurs anytime the ball "comes to rest" durring a dribble and then the player attempts to continue the dribble. In fact, last year's rule book had palming as a point of emphasis and clearly stated that the palm need not be pointing skyward for this violation to occur. It went on to say that this was esspecially a problem with the "hesitation dribble".

Now lets see what others will say. If I remember correctly, Rainmaker has had a few interesting posts on palming the ball.

Mike
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1