The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 23, 2001, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally posted by Rev.Ref63
I apologize if my scenario wasn't clear. A player is receiving a pass and his defender has a play on the ball as well. To avoid having the ball stolen, he bats the ball to the ground as opposed to catching it. The ball bounces once then he catches it. Does he still have his dribble? I lean towards "no" in this case.
As JR and Crew stated earlier, (I think from both sides of the same coin), the key is "control". If the player bats the ball to the ground "with control" it would constitute the beginning of a dribble. If the player then holds the ball, the dribble has ended. If the player bats the ball, and it was "without control" of the ball, then gains control by holding the ball, the player may begin a dribble.

From the sitch you describe I too would say NO the player does not still have his dribble.

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1