The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 22, 2001, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is assuming that the defender never attained a legal guarding position.
Guys -- I'm a relative newbie, but I recognize that Jurassic Ref got the final word on this one.

You are all missing this important point. REF THE DEFENSE> REF THE DEFENSE> REF THE DEFENSE. Has the defender established and maintained legal guarding position? Then it's a no-call. Whether the shooter is out of control or not is irrelevant. The secret to the whole thing is legal guarding position. Look in the Fed rule books under "verticality". Did the defender go straight up and keep his hands and arms straight up? Then no-call. If he jumped at an angle and the contact was caused by the defender moving away from his LEGAL GUARDING POSITION, then it's a block whether he gets the shot blocked or not, and whether the hit happens before or after the blocked shot.

I'm talking FED rules here. If someone else is using a different set of rules, please say so in your post.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1