The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   gps-4 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3482-gps-4-a.html)

rainmaker Sat Dec 22, 2001 12:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
BTW, you're not that new! :)
No, in fact, tonight I felt just plain old. Legs stiff and lungs heavin....

BktBallRef Sat Dec 22, 2001 01:08am

Me, too.

crew Sun Dec 23, 2001 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Juulie, that's just it. These guys don't care whether the defender had legal guarding position or not. If the defender has been standing still for a week, they aren't going to call a PC because the guy is standing under the basket.
you are correct.
how can a defensive player contest a shot standing under the rim. he can't. that is why it is taught not to call this a player control foul. it is no call or block. this is my opinion, you do not have to see it my way.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 23, 2001 01:49pm

[/B][/QUOTE]

you are correct.
how can a defensive player contest a shot standing under the rim. he can't. that is why it is taught not to call this a player control foul. it is no call or block. this is my opinion, you do not have to see it my way. [/B][/QUOTE]Nope,I certainly don't see it your way.
1)What does a defensive player contesting a shot have to do with anything?We're talking about a defensive player taking a charge.You know-establish legal position before the shooter leaves his feet?Is there any reason the defensive player can't just stand there?Please cite any NCAA or Fed rule to support your ridiculous statement.
2)It may be taught in the NBA,but it sure as hell ain't taught in the NCAA or Fed.
I really don't think you understand the basic concepts of block/charge.

crew Sun Dec 23, 2001 02:36pm

nc2a 4-4.8.7
b1 is standing standing directly under the basket before a1 jumps for the layup. the forward momentum of airborn shooter a1 causes a1 to run into b1. RULING: b1 is not in legal guarding position. blocking foul on b1. (women)

though this is for the womens game it is taught at mens camps as well. it is good practice to call this a defensive foul. though you do not have to call the game as i do.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 23, 2001 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by crew
nc2a 4-4.8.7
b1 is standing standing directly under the basket before a1 jumps for the layup. the forward momentum of airborn shooter a1 causes a1 to run into b1. RULING: b1 is not in legal guarding position. blocking foul on b1. (women)

though this is for the womens game it is taught at mens camps as well. it is good practice to call this a defensive foul. though you do not have to call the game as i do.

Crew,the women's NC2A rule that you quoted is being disputed.That was a topic on other threads both here and on another board.This rule was a re-write of the WNBA rule,and it was put in by a non-official.That's the way I understand it,anyway.There are absolutely no rules in men's NCAA and Fed that can back up your original claim.On the contrary,they both list situations where a player control or charge foul is the correct call.I will also state that the concept you put forth is not taught at any camp for NCAA or Fed officials,because it is completely contrary to the written rules.It is an absolutely idiotic practice to call this a defensive foul at any level under the NBA.That is my opinion!You are right though,in that you can call it anyway YOU want.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 23rd, 2001 at 02:31 PM]

crew Sun Dec 23, 2001 03:45pm

j.r.
the nc2a camps that i have attended, the clinicians(high ranking nc2a officials) have stated that this is good practice.
1. see the defender and locate where his feet are
2. see the play(start, middle, end) and let it develop.
3. judgement-if the defender is under the basket. no call or block. they also inform us to observe the outcome of the play.
a. is this a train wreck and the offensive misses the shot? yes-foul.
b. does the offensive player miss the shot? yes-foul.
c. does the offensive player make the shot? yes-pass on it.
d. is it a train wreck and the defender makes the shot? yes-foul.

yes, this is taught at nc2a camps.

crew Sun Dec 23, 2001 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Please cite any NCAA or Fed rule to support your ridiculous statement.
2)It may be taught in the NBA,but it sure as hell ain't taught in the NCAA or Fed.
I really don't think you understand the basic concepts of block/charge. [/B][/QUOTE]

j.r.,
you asked me to recite an nc2a rule, i did. now you come back with "that rule is being disputed" and "it is an absolutely idiotic practice to call this a defensive foul on any level under nba." do you always try to insult your fellow officials?

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 23, 2001 08:29pm

[/B][/QUOTE]

j.r.,
you asked me to recite an nc2a rule, i did. now you come back with "that rule is being disputed" and "it is an absolutely idiotic practice to call this a defensive foul on any level under nba." do you always try to insult your fellow officials? [/B][/QUOTE]Nope,I never insult my fellow officials.

Mark Dexter Sun Dec 23, 2001 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by crew
j.r.,
you asked me to recite an nc2a rule, i did. now you come back with "that rule is being disputed" and "it is an absolutely idiotic practice to call this a defensive foul on any level under nba." do you always try to insult your fellow officials?

How about an actual NCAA rule which is applied for both men's and women's ball, not just a freakish women's interpretation?

crew Sun Dec 23, 2001 09:04pm

mark, j.r.,
unbelievable! you asked for a rule. i gave it and the case book play. now it is freakish, and idiotic. what else would you like?

BktBallRef Sun Dec 23, 2001 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Nope, I never insult my fellow officials.
That's true! You've never insulted me.

Well then again, there was this one time when you called me Todd! :mad:

:D

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 23, 2001 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by crew
mark, j.r.,
unbelievable! you asked for a rule. i gave it and the case book play. now it is freakish, and idiotic. what else would you like?

Same thing I'd like,Crew.Please cite an NCAA mens or Fed rule to support your original Statement.

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 23, 2001 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
[/B]
That's true! You've never insulted me.

Well then again, there was this one time when you called me Todd! :mad:

:D [/B][/QUOTE]Hey,at least nobody calls you "raptor breath".:D:

Mark Dexter Sun Dec 23, 2001 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by crew
mark, j.r.,
unbelievable! you asked for a rule. i gave it and the case book play. now it is freakish, and idiotic. what else would you like?

Try 4-8-1, A.R. 6.

States clearly for men's ball that this play is a PC charge foul!!!



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1