The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 30, 2000, 12:14am
Official Forum Member

sorry if you guys think these are stupid questions, but i am a rookie.

i never acknowledge the coach when he is yelling about my calls. am i right? or should i sometimes explain my calls?
Old Sun Jan 30, 2000, 01:32am
Official Forum Member

First, welcome to the wonderful (usually!) world of basketball officiating. As a student myself, (I've only been working for 3 years) I've have reaped numerous benefits from this avocation. As for this question, it is important to be approachable to the coaches, as it lets them know that even though you are in control, you understand their needs and purpose. Do you need to explain every call, of course not! But, if there is a rules question, let him have his say. As for you other posts, if the scoreboard doesn't keep track of team fouls, it's the scorekeeper's responsibility. If the board shows the fouls, then glance at it and communicate with the table after every foul. The screen you described seems to be legal, as there was no contact. But, if A2 was hindering B1's sight or movement, you could call an intentional foul. It sounds like you did the right thing though.
Old Sun Jan 30, 2000, 01:57am
Official Forum Member

quote:
Originally posted by ken roberts on 01-30-2000 10:10 AM
If you have a guy faceguarding so that he can't see when receiving a pass, go ahead and call a technical. (10-3-8d) Same thing if a guy comes from behind and plays, "Guess who?"

It sounded like you were saying that you could call an intentional foul for a guy committing a moving screen with contact.

I have never seen faceguarding in a game, let alone called it. Has anyone else?